We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed with food - we won't return” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Larios on the Beach

Larios on the Beach
820 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5801 (Flamingo / Lummus)
+1 305-532-9577
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Larios on the Beach is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #185 of 841 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Californian, Caribbean, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Flamingo / Lummus
Cross street: Ocean Drive Between 8th & 9th
Franklin, Tennessee
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Disappointed with food - we won't return”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I've eaten here before and loved it, but this time we were very disappointed. We sat outside between the sidewalk and the street and the throngs of people coming by was nearly overwhelming. The cars and mopeds that kept pulling over in front of us filled the area with exhaust. The energy was interesting though, so we eagerly waited for our food. That was also very disappointing. The boliche (Cuban pot roast) was dry, dry, dry and not tender as were all of the other meats we ordered. When we mentioned it to the hostess (requesting to speak to a manager) he never came by. We were celebrating my father-in-law's 70th birthday and they brought a dessert with a large sparkler - but we weren't even given a discount on that dessert. We won't return. There are way too many good places to eat in this area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    168
    77
    33
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Cuban Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Right on Ocean Drive in the middle of all the action is Larios on the Beach. Good Cuban Food. Nice ambiance. There wasn't a wait and service was good. The menu lets you know the dishes that are recommended. The shrimp dish was delicious and the fried stuffed potatoes were a good starter.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satellite Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Cuban food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My family and I shared the appetizer platter. It turned out to be a delicious mix and fun to try (if you're into broadening your food horizons). We also were in agreement that the black bean rice was amazing. However, like all the restaurants in Miami, it was expensive.
Oh, and fun fact: this restaurant is owned by Gloria Estafan. You may be wondering what a pop star would know about good food. Well, Gloria's grandmother came over from Cuba and owned a successful Cuban food business, which Gloria adopted into her restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
1 review
“Great dining place for some Cuban food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I'm not a big fan of restaurants, but this place was just amazing. They have it all: fresh food, drinks, service, location and very affordable prices for the quality you get. We were 11 people with a bunch of kids, but they seated us immediately, the waiter was very professional and the cooks fast. If you are in the area and looking for some Cuban food, try Larios and won't regret it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, New Jersey, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great cuban food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I had the grilled seafood platter - an excellent first intro to Cuban food! Service was impeccable. I especially liked to the Cuban band performing in the dining room. Watch out for the 18% already on the check!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Larios on the Beach also viewed

 

Been to Larios on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Larios on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.