We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always top, best address on Ocean Drive to enjoy specialities from the ocean.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Fish Called Avalon

A Fish Called Avalon
700 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6220 (Flamingo / Lummus)
305-532-1727
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
A Fish Called Avalon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 836 restaurants in Miami Beach
Price range: $21 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, Eclectic, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Flamingo / Lummus
Cross street: 7th
Description: Overlooking Ocean Drive from the veranda of the Avalon Hotel is the 25 year old, acclaimed restaurant, A fish Called Avalon. Cuisine features local seafood prepared with a sensuous, tropical flair. An extensive wine reserve and full service bar naturally compliment our great food.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Always top, best address on Ocean Drive to enjoy specialities from the ocean.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

...we know this place since 5 years and give it several visits during our stays in Miami Beach. The quality has always been top, the service always been very attentive and the atmosphere very exciting. If you look for an upper class Ocean Drive dining experience off the beach ware clubs, this is the place to go. My favorites are Shrimp Cocktail, Crab crusted Grouper and any of the finest desserts, not to forget the perfect grilled Fillet Mignon, Reservations highly recommended. Don't loose time for searching a parking lot, constructions on Collins make this to mission impossible, there is a parking house between Washington and Collins corner to Avalon's street...

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef_Kal, Executive Chef at A Fish Called Avalon, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Guest, How lucky we are to have knowledgeable and loyal guests like you. We really appreciate your positive comments about our cuisine, atmosphere, and service. It was extremely thoughtful of you to supply parking tips for visitors too, because it’s true that parking can be a challenge. Many thanks for writing, and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Miami Beach.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    352
    195
    36
    16
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“What a great birthday celebration I had here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Vacationing in South Beach from NY this past weekend. Did a lot of research to find the perfect restaurant to dine at for my b-day. This surpassed our expectations. The meal started with great bread and an excellent wine list. Had a delicious French grenache/rose I will try to buy locally. Our server was wonderful and extremely helpful in helping us decide what to order. We loved our halibut and paella entrees and the ambience dining outdoors just added to a wonderful evening. Would recommend this to anyone staying in Miami.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef_Kal, Executive Chef at A Fish Called Avalon, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

We were truly honored that you chose us for your birthday celebration. Thank you so much for describing all the elements that added up to a memorable evening. I wish you belated but sincere birthday wishes, and hope to welcome you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Exceptional!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

This place is always a must when we visit Miami! The outdoor patio is romantic and perfect for enjoying the wonderful meal.We start always with the beef carpaccio, which is paper thin and melts in your mouth. Next, it is the grilled octopus that has a balsamic glaze to compliment..We had the crab crusted grouper and the fresh Branzino! Kudos to the chef who does an excellent job cooking the fish to perfection! Santiago and his assistant were spot on with the service. Santiago thanked us for being return guests with there fabulous creme brulee, my favorite. Thanks for a wonderful evening!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef_Kal, Executive Chef at A Fish Called Avalon, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf our entire team, I offer you our heartfelt thanks for taking the time to write a delightful review. I’m just delighted to be on your list of “Miami musts.” Your recommendation to others, and your continuing satisfaction, mean the world to us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Food, Incompetent Service!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The food was very nice in a great location. We were prepared to pay the high prices as it was for a special occasion. When we received the bill, we placed the cash in the folder and handed it to the head of house as our waiter had disappeared. He checked it, thanked us and wished us good night. About ten minutes later as we were strolling along Ocean Drive, the waiter accosted us. He had run after us and accused us in a loud voice of not paying our bill. He was waving the empty folder in the air with the crumpled bill but no money in it and said that we had done a runner! We were shocked and confused and explained what we had done. He eventually backed down, but we were left angry and feeling that the evening had been spoiled. It was an appalling and incompetent way to treat guests!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef_Kal, Executive Chef at A Fish Called Avalon, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Guest, Please accept my sincere apologies for that most unpleasant incident. Thank you for letting us know what happened so we can ensure that it is never repeated.

Nothing I can say can erase that truly unfortunate mix-up by our wait staff, but by way of an apology, I would like to offer you a gift card. If you would be so kind as to call 305-532-1727, and I will make the arrangements. Please ask for myself or Morgan who can assist as well. Thank you again for writing.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Loved this restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

My family of 4, including 2 teenagers, had a wonderful outdoor meal here! It was overlooking a nice part of Ocean Ave, (it is a little crazier starting a few blocks down). Our waiter was lovely. It was my favorite meal in Miami. I didn't think the prices were any different than at any other nice restaurant in the area. We could walk from our hotel, The Betsy, and take in all the goings-on on this street, but still eat on a quiet, beautiful patio. Would go again!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef_Kal, Executive Chef at A Fish Called Avalon, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

What a clever parent you are, to acquaint your teenagers early on with one of the classiest and most enjoyable restaurants on Ocean Drive. We like to think that our patio seating is a standout, exactly for the reasons you gave – a great view of the passing parade, plus excellent food and service. Thanks for writing!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Fish Called Avalon also viewed

 
Miami Beach, FL
Miami Beach, FL
 

Been to A Fish Called Avalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Fish Called Avalon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.