We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exelent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Fish Called Avalon

A Fish Called Avalon
700 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6220 (Flamingo / Lummus)
+1 305-532-1727
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
A Fish Called Avalon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #42 of 859 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $40
Cuisines: Chowder, Seafood, International, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Flamingo / Lummus
Cross street: 7th
Description: Overlooking Ocean Drive from the veranda of the Avalon Hotel is the 25 year old, acclaimed restaurant, A fish Called Avalon. Cuisine features local seafood prepared with a sensuous, tropical flair. An extensive wine reserve and full service bar naturally compliment our great food.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exelent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was our last diner in Miami beach. Great! Excellent food (red snapper, lobster tails, sea food risotto), great service and nice live music.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    510
    281
    59
    24
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very slow service, but delicious meal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I recently visited here on a trip to Miami Beach. It was directly next door to our hotel, which was convenient. It was on a very busy corner of Ocean Drive and it was quite a spectacle to watch the passer-by (both vehicular and pedestrian). The menu was mostly seafood, and I ordered the salmon. It took quite a long time for the food to come out. My dish arrived, and it was a very different flavor profile than I am used to eating-- spicy with aromatic flavors unfamiliar to me. The salmon was slightly overcooked, but not too badly that it was inedible. I ordered the creme brulee for dessert and was pleasantly surprised-- light yet rich, and not too sweet. The outdoor dining right on the street was fun, and our waiter was friendly and knowledgeable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A good surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We went to this restaurant recommended by the Concierge of our Hotel. It’s very well located with a very nice decoration.
The service is also very good. We were “afraid”, because it was full, but everything went very well.
The wine list it’s Ok and all the food was very good.
A place to recommend and visit again.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Possibly the best address on Ocean Drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We know this place now since four years, in all these years it serves finest food, great cocktails, has a very friendly and attentive staff and nice music. If you look for quality and athmosphere, don't look further....

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This was a very nice restaurant. The food and service was spectacular. We sat outside and it was very nice...a little noisy from the traffic though. We highly recommend this spot. We hated we didn't go back before we left.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Fish Called Avalon also viewed

 

Been to A Fish Called Avalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Fish Called Avalon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.