We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally great Italian restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria del Teatro

Osteria del Teatro
1443 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
(305) 538-7850
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 876 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Price range: $35 - $80
Cuisines: Italian, Contemporary, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Oak Park
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Totally great Italian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Delightful Italian food, great ambiance, first class service.
Albert (the owner and MD) and the waiters (like Rafael) are very welcoming, they really make you feel special.
The Lobster salad is extraordinary, the classic and specialty pastas are like home made. All we ate is very well made and presented.
I will go there avery time I can, highly recommended

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    103
    29
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, amazing meal!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

We chose this place based on trip advisor reviews and I'm so glad we did. The restaurant is very old (appearantly it's been around for 20 years) and the staff are super friendly. For appetizer we ordered the lobster with mango and avocado salad special. What can I say?!! It was a symphony of flavours that worked out perfectly. One of the most delicious plates I've ever had. For main course I had the black ink fish and crab ravioli. The pasta tasted so fresh. It was a touch too salty but was still so delicious. I was full halfway through the plate (large portions) but I still finished it. My husband had a rack of lamb and a side order of vodka sauce penne. He said it was the bast lamb he's ever had and I agree. For desserts we had the tiramisu and the apple tart. The tiramisu was very good but not the best I've had. And my husband liked his apple tart.
I would return to this place to try other things.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“As good as it gets outside of Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Osteria del Teatro is one of the few restaurants in Miami that has survived for more than 20 years and it is because they have preserved their excellence in Italian food and great service. I have been dining at this restaurant since it opened and I can say the food has only gotten better through the years. The neighborhood has definitely changed since the early South Beach days but this Italian gem in the middle of one of the busiest streets in South Beach has been able to retain its title as one of the top Italian restaurants in Miami. My all-time favorites are the Lobster-Mango Salad, and the Pappardelle with Lobster, both to die for. Oh, and don't forget to save room for the best Tiramisu in town!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excelent restaurant!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Excelent restaurant!! Tiramisu.... to die for!!! Our waiter Rafael was very helpful in guiding us through our coulinary experience. Gilbert the owner very on top of his costumers.
Recomend it 10000000000%.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Continues to be a great place to dine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We were frequent visitor when we spent more time in Miami but had not been there in 7+ years. The only flaw is the neighborhood and when you have to wait for your car outside ... couple of bad drunks tried to approach us post dinner. Not something that restaurant can control.

Food, service, etc are as great as they were 7 years ago, Great experience, Wine list is pretty good and not overpriced.

Again, accept that quality almost always costs more

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria del Teatro also viewed

 

Been to Osteria del Teatro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria del Teatro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.