We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lobster Rolls” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Stone Crab

Joe's Stone Crab
11 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
3056730365
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 833 restaurants in Miami Beach
Price range: $10 - $80
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: A landmark known for stone crabs, fine food and outstanding service. Started in 1913 and still owned and operated by the same family. Joe's provides the freshest stone crabs, seafood and more. Joe's Take Away is a smaller version of our original restaurant, which features all the specialities, plus amazing salads, sandwiches, specials and an early morning breakfast.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
“Lobster Rolls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 NEW

Great Place to eat. Great vibe, go early. Miami tradition and get the Lobster Bisque and the staff is first class. The best seafood in South Beach.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,151 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    1,153
    585
    242
    84
    87
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida, USA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Barely OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 NEW

Such rich tradition and we have enjoyed many visits but this one caused us to consider not going back. Always expensive as seafood usually is, they had a "limited" menu in place this visit. In years past they have been closed in the "off season". Glad that they opened up but disappointed that they chose to offer a limited menu. Our server was below average...not rude but odd and kept making mistakes and kept saying I had a week off and can't get with it. Not a huge deal but no kids menu and the place had a kid at least half the tables ( 3/4 full)...they just seem to be back to arrogant about their success. Drink times were really long as was any request for something we needed at the table. We might have gone to our once beloved Joe's for the last time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Arrogance!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 NEW

I've been in the industry over 20 years and work at a top restaurant. Never have I received such treatment from what is supposed to be a family oriented restaurant.
We come for a table for 3...the host says an hour..so we ask if we can eat dinner in the bar, he says yes but only in the booths. We head into the bar and find the last booth in the row available....we're excited. The kind server comes over and we ask for dinner menus..She says I'm sorry but we don't serve dinner at this booth only at the other 3 booths that are next to us. We ask why is that..and we continue saying that the host told us otherwise. She kindly suggests to grab the manager.
The Manager comes over and address us with these words...."Whats the problem?".....umm...ok...so we continue to tell him that we were told that the host said we can eat dinner in the booths in the bar and we are now in a booth in the bar....He shuts us down quickly and says its not possible because the server cant handle it....huh?...now i'm getting confused,frustrated and angry. I make more of a fuss and the conversation ends. He sees now we are visibly angry and possibly fears after I told him im in the industry that I wouldnt let this slide...He was right.
He leaves the table and 6 min later we are called for our table in the dinning room. Instead of him solving the problem with proper tone and finding a way to make us happy, he bumps us up thinking that is enough....unfortunately not.
We now move into the dinning room after ordering a salad in the bar with no peanuts as I'm allergic....the salad comes with peanuts. We promptly tell our new arrogant dinning room server and he takes it to the kitchen....about 1 1/2 min later another salad comes....and what to I find....a peanut....what does this tell me? They took it back and the salad maker picked them out of the old salad instead of making a new salad. TERRIBLE!!

If your looking for good service and reasonable prices I highly suggest another restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pricey but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Great food but very expensive. Great atmosphere and excellent service. Free parking was a plus and easy to get in and out.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“BEST STEAK EVER!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Going to Joe's Stone Crab ALSO means the very best steak! Yes! That's right! The Steaks ARE AMAZING!! Want the BEST FRIED CHICKEN that is CHEAPER than KFC?? JOES! Half of the best fried chicken is $5.95!
Trust a local! We know the best deals for the best food!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Stone Crab also viewed

 
Miami Beach, FL
Miami Beach, FL
 

Been to Joe's Stone Crab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's Stone Crab, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.