We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Stone Crab

Joe's Stone Crab
11 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
3056730365
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 839 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Price range: $10 - $80
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: A landmark known for stone crabs, fine food and outstanding service. Started in 1913 and still owned and operated by the same family. Joe's provides the freshest stone crabs, seafood and more. Joe's Take Away is a smaller version of our original restaurant, which features all the specialities, plus amazing salads, sandwiches, specials and an early morning breakfast.
Freehold, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Heard so much about this place. Only open October to May for local crab season. We went to the take out section. It has a great menu,cheaper prices, and tables to sit at. The main dining area is more expensive and has a dress code. It is truly worth going to. Everything on the menu is amazing. All fresh and delicious. You can even order for a delivered box anywhere in U>S>A Key Lime Pie is the best in the universe. Lots of history. Dont miss this place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,170 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    1,161
    592
    245
    85
    87
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

When in SoBe you have to come to Joe's for dinner at least once. I had a steak and I thought it was very good. Not the best I have ever had but still very good. The sides were good and the atmosphere is great. Will definitely be back.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Time you will never recover/either will your wallet!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

It took over 2 hours just to go from the main waiting areas to the 'inner' area where we waited another 15 minutes and we still had ask to be seated. We were clearly not one of the 'chosen' nor did we contribute to the Maitre'D's slush fund. Others complained they tipped him and they were still waiting. Waiting at the bar, where the drink prices verged on the absurd was loud and uncomfortable due to the crowd waiting. When we were finally seated, the wait staff was definitely superb, in every way. I just wish the food was. My wife ordered the stone crabs and I ordered the special which was sea bass. Living in Miami, she often orders this dish. In her opinion they did not stand out from recent purchases in other restaurants for less than half they charged. My sea bass was a huge let down. The sauce was pasty and tasteless, the ravioli was undercookedand the sea bass looked much better than it tasted. My wife grew up im Miami and really enjoyed the way Joe's was years ago. It is nothing more than an average sea food establishment with a romantic name and memories. It is too bad the food was not as enjoyable as the memories!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“An experience in Miami Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I read a lot of reviews saying that there is a waiting line since they do not accept reservations. And how to tip 20 usd beforehand to get inside. So I was a bit reluctant, but we took our chance and went there.

There was no line, since it was the Super Bowl night. Our waiter, who has been working there for 25 years, told us normally they are serving 1700 people, but that night there has been only 700 people. So we were lucky. The service was nice, our waiter suggested us to follow his tips and we did so. We shared a portion of hash browns, tomatoes with cheese and spinach as side dishes. Stone crabs -2 portions @around 55 usd/portion, and 2 beers, and finale with (one) delicious key lime pie.

We paid around 200 usd -100 usd/person-and I would say it is expensive but this is an experience in Miami Beach. So I would recommend this experience, if it is ok for you to spend $100/person for a nice dinner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oostburg, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Come for the seafood, but not much else”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Joe's today is a far cry from its humble roots. It's a huge, crowded, and noisy assembly line, and the service is perfunctory at best. The crab (two kinds) and lobster on our cold sampler were succulent, but the side of creamed spinach might as well have come from a can. The shrimp in the coconut shrimp appetizer was excellent and the two dipping sauces were nice accompaniments, but the coating on the outside of the shrimp was scorched. The resident retirees and their daughter at the next table were repeat diners, but we won't be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Stone Crab also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Stone Crab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's Stone Crab, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.