We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience in Miami Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Stone Crab

Joe's Stone Crab
11 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
3056730365
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 888 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Price range: $10 - $80
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: A landmark known for stone crabs, fine food and outstanding service. Started in 1913 and still owned and operated by the same family. Joe's provides the freshest stone crabs, seafood and more. Joe's Take Away is a smaller version of our original restaurant, which features all the specialities, plus amazing salads, sandwiches, specials and an early morning breakfast.
istanbul
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“An experience in Miami Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I read a lot of reviews saying that there is a waiting line since they do not accept reservations. And how to tip 20 usd beforehand to get inside. So I was a bit reluctant, but we took our chance and went there.

There was no line, since it was the Super Bowl night. Our waiter, who has been working there for 25 years, told us normally they are serving 1700 people, but that night there has been only 700 people. So we were lucky. The service was nice, our waiter suggested us to follow his tips and we did so. We shared a portion of hash browns, tomatoes with cheese and spinach as side dishes. Stone crabs -2 portions @around 55 usd/portion, and 2 beers, and finale with (one) delicious key lime pie.

We paid around 200 usd -100 usd/person-and I would say it is expensive but this is an experience in Miami Beach. So I would recommend this experience, if it is ok for you to spend $100/person for a nice dinner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,415
    689
    289
    100
    103
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oostburg, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Come for the seafood, but not much else”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Joe's today is a far cry from its humble roots. It's a huge, crowded, and noisy assembly line, and the service is perfunctory at best. The crab (two kinds) and lobster on our cold sampler were succulent, but the side of creamed spinach might as well have come from a can. The shrimp in the coconut shrimp appetizer was excellent and the two dipping sauces were nice accompaniments, but the coating on the outside of the shrimp was scorched. The resident retirees and their daughter at the next table were repeat diners, but we won't be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

A must in South Beach. Service was good. Had lobster mac n cheese, the famous stone crabs, coleslaw and bread pudding. Didnt like the bread pudding partly because it wasnt crunchy enough on top. Coleslaw was okay, nothing special. The crabs and mac n cheese was amazing !!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A lot of money for a meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Friends took us to Joe's for Stone Crabs. We love lobsters and thought Stone Crabs would be interesting. I vote for lobsters. A lot of hard work for not as much meat AND the price is easily double and/or triple what a very good lobster would cost. Couldn't understand why the place was packed as soon as the doors were opened at 5PM. The salads and vegetables were reasonably priced however. If a very good lobster place opened nearby it would be great competition. My recommendation, find a stone crab place for half the price if you like stone crabs.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Food was good, service not so much!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

A little pricey when it comes to stone crab claws especially the jumbo size at $79.99/ portion. The service staff try to act all professional with their red bow ties, but at the end it was barely mediocre service. If you are their with kids, expect a sign saying no strollers allowed which was a first in America, our 1 year was taking a nap and we had to wait until she's awake to be get seated. I believe anything around $80.00/ person for lunch without alcohol is a little overpriced, so be careful what to order!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Stone Crab also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Stone Crab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's Stone Crab, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.