We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Stone Crab

Joe's Stone Crab
11 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
3056730365
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 871 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $80
Cuisines: French, American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: A landmark known for stone crabs, fine food and outstanding service. Started in 1913 and still owned and operated by the same family. Joe's provides the freshest stone crabs, seafood and more. Joe's Take Away is a smaller version of our original restaurant, which features all the specialities, plus amazing salads, sandwiches, specials and an early morning breakfast.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

OK. This was a true highlight of our trip to Miami. As others mention, that they take no table bookings means that you "have to" wait for quite long at the bar (for us ca 45 min). Of all the things I've "had to" do, this was for sure one of the most enjoyable. I think I even would recommend you to be asked to be put a little further down on the seating list just to be able to take in the ambience for a few minutes longer... The crowd, wine, stone crabs, fried green tomatoes, key lime pie, service - all was great in a casual/elegant way. The medium order of crabs was perfect for two, even if the waiters will probably try to convince you to order the larger one - though if you do, there'll be no room for the spectacular key lime pie (which was perfect to share between two).

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,895
    902
    353
    130
    123
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Always the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Everything is always amazing! You can never go wrong at Joes. I tried the artichoke for the first time and was delicious. Don't miss the salty rye rolls.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good but pretentious”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Joe’s food is very good, but the ambient is very pretentious. The service is poor and the parking is terrible.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
139 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Joe's Take Away – Same Delicious Food for Much Better Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We highly enjoyed Joe's Take Away. It offers the same delicious food as Joe's Stone Crab restaurant for much better value and much shorter wait in a more casual setting of indoor tables or take way. The 2 of us ordered a Medium order of the signature Florida stone crab claws (8 claws), seafood bisque, fried chicken, skinny fried sweet potatoes and the key lime pie. The crab was delicious, fresh and meaty, the seafood bisque very tasty with big chunks of fish, the skinny fried sweet potatoes tasty but not wow, and the key lime pie excellent. It is located just about 1/2 a block north of the family owned Stone Crab restaurant. There is free parking across the street for restaurant’s customers. While the setting is casual, it is much nicer than a typical take away. A very satisfying experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Overrated... It's Okay but don't get caught in the excitement!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Ok, just to give you fair warning, the waiting line for this restaurant is very long! We waited over an hour (and then was told later the local secret that if you whispered to the booking attendant you would tip him on the way out you would get in much quicker).

Didn't leave me with a great impression truly... but overall I was not impressed. I was told that this is a must to visit but the ambience was too crowded, the food was not all that excellent and the cost is very high. Five of us went and we were all left disappointed as we were expecting so much more.

The bartender was a gem and became a quick friend during our wait serving up some classic drinks and mojitos. At this restaurant we tried their speciality; stone crabs and key lime pie....

But overall I would recommend Truluck Restaurant which I have recently visited and think the value, service and ambience is so much better and appealing!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Stone Crab also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Stone Crab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's Stone Crab, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.