We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Stone Crab

Joe's Stone Crab
11 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
3056730365
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 829 restaurants in Miami Beach
Price range: $10 - $80
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: A landmark known for stone crabs, fine food and outstanding service. Started in 1913 and still owned and operated by the same family. Joe's provides the freshest stone crabs, seafood and more. Joe's Take Away is a smaller version of our original restaurant, which features all the specialities, plus amazing salads, sandwiches, specials and an early morning breakfast.
South Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Always the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Everything is always amazing! You can never go wrong at Joes. I tried the artichoke for the first time and was delicious. Don't miss the salty rye rolls.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,130 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    1,140
    581
    239
    84
    86
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good but pretentious”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Joe’s food is very good, but the ambient is very pretentious. The service is poor and the parking is terrible.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Joe's Take Away – Same Delicious Food for Much Better Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We highly enjoyed Joe's Take Away. It offers the same delicious food as Joe's Stone Crab restaurant for much better value and much shorter wait in a more casual setting of indoor tables or take way. The 2 of us ordered a Medium order of the signature Florida stone crab claws (8 claws), seafood bisque, fried chicken, skinny fried sweet potatoes and the key lime pie. The crab was delicious, fresh and meaty, the seafood bisque very tasty with big chunks of fish, the skinny fried sweet potatoes tasty but not wow, and the key lime pie excellent. It is located just about 1/2 a block north of the family owned Stone Crab restaurant. There is free parking across the street for restaurant’s customers. While the setting is casual, it is much nicer than a typical take away. A very satisfying experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Overrated... It's Okay but don't get caught in the excitement!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Ok, just to give you fair warning, the waiting line for this restaurant is very long! We waited over an hour (and then was told later the local secret that if you whispered to the booking attendant you would tip him on the way out you would get in much quicker).

Didn't leave me with a great impression truly... but overall I was not impressed. I was told that this is a must to visit but the ambience was too crowded, the food was not all that excellent and the cost is very high. Five of us went and we were all left disappointed as we were expecting so much more.

The bartender was a gem and became a quick friend during our wait serving up some classic drinks and mojitos. At this restaurant we tried their speciality; stone crabs and key lime pie....

But overall I would recommend Truluck Restaurant which I have recently visited and think the value, service and ambience is so much better and appealing!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“This place is great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My wife and I go to South Beach annually during the winter to warm up. We discovered Joe's last year and couldn't believe the vibe, the lobster rolls, or how cool it was to be able to order non-touristy food and have a glass of wine with it while there. This year we actually picked our hotel to near Joe's. We stayed in the area for 7 days and ate out constantly at all type places and it is just hard to beat Joe's.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Stone Crab also viewed

 
Miami Beach, FL
Miami Beach, FL
 

Been to Joe's Stone Crab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's Stone Crab, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.