We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but LOOOOOOONG lines!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Stone Crab

Joe's Stone Crab
11 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
3056730365
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 911 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $80
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A landmark known for stone crabs, fine food and outstanding service. Started in 1913 and still owned and operated by the same family. Joe's provides the freshest stone crabs, seafood and more. Joe's Take Away is a smaller version of our original restaurant, which features all the specialities, plus amazing salads, sandwiches, specials and an early morning breakfast.
Zürich
Level Contributor
86 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food but LOOOOOOONG lines!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is a historic restaurant (opened in 1913) near the south tip of Miami Beach. Try the varous forms of crab! The food - especially seafood - tastes great, the staff was friendly and extremely efficient. Only downpoint: very long wait (we arrived at 4:30-ish and only got a table around 7 pm). Tip: if you are there with kids and have to kill time go to the south tip park, there is an excellent playground.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Renato Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
108 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Joe has to try harder”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We had not been to Joe's for some years and we really looked forward to it. The building and decoration are a perfect mix of classic Florida. The waiting staff are attentive and can even be friendly and funny. The food is .... well, you go there for the stone crabs and that's what you eat, stone crab with hash browns. But wait, Joe has decided to fill your plate with something green and ugly. Something lacking any aroma or taste whatsoever. Creamy spinach they call it. Why would Joe compliment your plate with something so out of place? An otherwise fine meal ruined by lack of culinary common sense. What a pity.

Helpful?
Thank Roberto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very disappointing dinner”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Arrived at 5.00 for dinner it was already chaos. After being seated our unfriendly waitress oversold us when ordering Lobster, she said the sides of spinach were great only to find the lobster anyway came with spinach. After waiting 45 minutes for our food the lobster was cold and had to be sent back TWICE to be reheated. Obviously it would taste terrible after being reheated twice. My Tuna steak was tasteless. The waitress offered us complimentary deserts and coffee as compensation. I said I would take an Expresso and she said no it only could be for American coffee, wow after a bad $39,99 terrible lobster why offer coffee and not allow Expresso.

Rather go to their take away section.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stephensos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
141 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Joe’s Stone Crab Take-out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The restaurant was closed for lunch on Christmas day, so we stumbled into the take-out which was a much better solution for lunch anyway. We sat at the bar, where a wonderfully helpful bartender served us. The only down side was that everything came in plastic take-out containers. The fried oysters were delicious and so was the coleslaw. The stone crabs were good but a bit watery for my taste. All in all a great way of enjoying Joe’s without having to wait forever (or bribe the maître de).

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank german_in_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
342 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Most popular seafood in Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I like in that place Crab gloves , cole slow salad and fry chicken of corse. Best crab in Miami 100%!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Roman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Stone Crab also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Stone Crab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing