We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special Meal turns Sour...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Stone Crab

Joe's Stone Crab
11 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
3056730365
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 843 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $80
Cuisines: French, American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: A landmark known for stone crabs, fine food and outstanding service. Started in 1913 and still owned and operated by the same family. Joe's provides the freshest stone crabs, seafood and more. Joe's Take Away is a smaller version of our original restaurant, which features all the specialities, plus amazing salads, sandwiches, specials and an early morning breakfast.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Special Meal turns Sour...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We go to Joe's once or twice a year to enjoy the Stone Crabs and have romantic moment. We requested to be seated in the more intimate side dining room occupied by other couples at small quiet tables.

In the blink of an eye, the staff is running around setting a long table squeezed into the space spanning two rooms and blocking our table from even getting up. After mentioning this to the head waiter in our area, he offered to move us to another table 3 feet from our current table, which didn't really solve the issue. They sat a table of 12+ loud south americans practically in our lap and ruined our dining experience.

An offer of dessert doesn't really replace ruining our lunch. As we left, I mentioned this to the General Manager, who could not have cared less. He attitude was basically that he had to squeeze tables in anywhere he could. From my viewpoint, it is a big restaurant with many other areas where he could have comfortably placed a large loud table.

All in all, that may have been our last visit to Joe's. This place has become too much of a factory catering to unclassy herds.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,729
    832
    331
    123
    116
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Big reputation, Average food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We hear so much about this landmark but we wonder why people stand in line to eat there. Sometimes people line up for the reputation of a restaurant as opposed to the food taste. The food was very average at best. It was expensive too boot! It appears to be more of a food factory than a fine dining restaurant. It's kind of like going to a wedding banquet whereby the room looks nice, it's packed, but the food is never great! There are plenty of other smaller restaurants that blow this away, take your time and seek them out!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Go for the freshest stone crab in the area and be plesantly surprised by the key lime pie!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Joe's Stone Crab is at the top of best crab and lobster restaurants. We were looking for king crab but decided to go for the regional specialty - stone crab. Cooked and then refridgerated, the dish is served cold and the kitchen cracks the claws for you making them easy to enjoy. Sides are a la carte - we ordered the lyonnaise potatoes and fried green tomatoes...skip the potatoes, nothing special there. Everything else was pretty great. If you enjoy lobster, don't hesitate to order the warm water lobster tail broiled. They know how to cook this often mushy textured creature to perfection, it was excellent considering it was warm water. Key lime pie was very good. Expensive if you order alcohol and it's somewhat pretentious and trendy.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A classic in Miami!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We went with some local friends for dinner, and this was undoubtedly a wonderful meal. They have the best stone crab, fresh, tasteful, by far the best crab we have ever eaten. The sweet potato fries were delicious, but the traditional key lime pie was to die for. The service was excellent.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Classic & classy Miami Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Reliably delicious & great service. Stone crabs always great, but don't miss cole slaw, & heavenly key lime pie and apple pie.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Stone Crab also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Stone Crab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's Stone Crab, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.