We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big reputation, Average food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Stone Crab

Joe's Stone Crab
11 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
3056730365
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 892 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $80
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A landmark known for stone crabs, fine food and outstanding service. Started in 1913 and still owned and operated by the same family. Joe's provides the freshest stone crabs, seafood and more. Joe's Take Away is a smaller version of our original restaurant, which features all the specialities, plus amazing salads, sandwiches, specials and an early morning breakfast.
Miami
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Big reputation, Average food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We hear so much about this landmark but we wonder why people stand in line to eat there. Sometimes people line up for the reputation of a restaurant as opposed to the food taste. The food was very average at best. It was expensive too boot! It appears to be more of a food factory than a fine dining restaurant. It's kind of like going to a wedding banquet whereby the room looks nice, it's packed, but the food is never great! There are plenty of other smaller restaurants that blow this away, take your time and seek them out!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Go for the freshest stone crab in the area and be plesantly surprised by the key lime pie!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Joe's Stone Crab is at the top of best crab and lobster restaurants. We were looking for king crab but decided to go for the regional specialty - stone crab. Cooked and then refridgerated, the dish is served cold and the kitchen cracks the claws for you making them easy to enjoy. Sides are a la carte - we ordered the lyonnaise potatoes and fried green tomatoes...skip the potatoes, nothing special there. Everything else was pretty great. If you enjoy lobster, don't hesitate to order the warm water lobster tail broiled. They know how to cook this often mushy textured creature to perfection, it was excellent considering it was warm water. Key lime pie was very good. Expensive if you order alcohol and it's somewhat pretentious and trendy.

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Passion_for_Food1765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A classic in Miami!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We went with some local friends for dinner, and this was undoubtedly a wonderful meal. They have the best stone crab, fresh, tasteful, by far the best crab we have ever eaten. The sweet potato fries were delicious, but the traditional key lime pie was to die for. The service was excellent.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mariana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
2 reviews
“Classic & classy Miami Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Reliably delicious & great service. Stone crabs always great, but don't miss cole slaw, & heavenly key lime pie and apple pie.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank jlgMiamiBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best crab ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We went to this restaurant several times around lunch time and it is by far the best crab that I have ever eaten. The atmosphere of the restaurant is great as it makes you feel like as if you travelled into the past. The waiters are perfectly groomed in their uniform and wear bow ties. The food arrives quite quickly at the table and service is efficient but discreet. I really recommend this place to people who love crab.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Francoisdeparis83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Stone Crab also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Stone Crab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing