We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best crab ever” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Stone Crab

Joe's Stone Crab
11 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
3056730365
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 871 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Price range: $10 - $80
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: A landmark known for stone crabs, fine food and outstanding service. Started in 1913 and still owned and operated by the same family. Joe's provides the freshest stone crabs, seafood and more. Joe's Take Away is a smaller version of our original restaurant, which features all the specialities, plus amazing salads, sandwiches, specials and an early morning breakfast.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best crab ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We went to this restaurant several times around lunch time and it is by far the best crab that I have ever eaten. The atmosphere of the restaurant is great as it makes you feel like as if you travelled into the past. The waiters are perfectly groomed in their uniform and wear bow ties. The food arrives quite quickly at the table and service is efficient but discreet. I really recommend this place to people who love crab.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,300
    645
    268
    92
    94
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vercorin, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“JUMBO CRABS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

If one choose to go and taste the STUNNING JUMBO CRABS of Joe, do it on Sunday, either lunch or dinner: you will wait less than one hour (vs > than 2 hours on Saturday)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanlucar de Barrameda, Spain
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Miami South Beach Institution”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We visited the take away on a Monday lunchtime and it was busy but no queues and possible to get a table immediately. The ordering system is quick and efficient and you collect your drinks from the bar area and wait to hear your food order called out.

The blackened fish sandwich and crab cake (just pure crab meat) with salad were both excellent as was the key lime pie. Wine was 8.50 dollars a glass but it was a large glass!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunapee, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Worth the high prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We both love stone crab and were determined to dine at the most famous stone crab restaurant in the world. Generally we refuse to wait an extended period for a restaurant but with a no reservation policy, there was no option. There was a "20 minute"wait for a dining table but we were directed to a table in the bar where we had a drink and ordered one of the best and freshest calamari appetizers we have ever tasted. We were seated in the dining room in about 35 minutes but it did not seem to be a wait but an experience that was pleasant with good drinks,food and serviceThe stone crab dinner was excellent as expected and the service was good. It was very expensive but stone crab is very expensive everywhere, therefore, we expected it.As we departed, the host at the D.R. entrance thanked us by name; impressive.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“GREAT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Everything but the hour wait There are too many good restaurants in Miami Beach to wait that long at any one

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Stone Crab also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Stone Crab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's Stone Crab, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.