We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Place or Lunch Too” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Stone Crab

Joe's Stone Crab
11 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
3056730365
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 843 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Price range: $10 - $80
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: A landmark known for stone crabs, fine food and outstanding service. Started in 1913 and still owned and operated by the same family. Joe's provides the freshest stone crabs, seafood and more. Joe's Take Away is a smaller version of our original restaurant, which features all the specialities, plus amazing salads, sandwiches, specials and an early morning breakfast.
East Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Place or Lunch Too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We were going to have lunch at Joe's Stone Crab and the main dining room was not open for lunch. However, the "cafe" next door was open. It was wonderful. Free taste tests for salads, soups, etc. Place your order, wait for your number THEN you are allowed to go next door to the outdoor dining. What a lovely experience. The "cafe" is rather noisy and busy. Outside is another world.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,183
    600
    250
    85
    87
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lanexa, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Legenday restaurant still Great! Yes, the fried chicken is only $5.95.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Although the stones crabs are a delicacy and priced accordingly, your meal doesn't have to cost you an arm and a leg. We were shocked to see that also on the menu was the 1/2 fried chicken for $5.95. We thought it was a typo but were told that the owner thinks everything should be priced accordingly and "how much does chicked cost". Jeaninr our waitress was awesome - she's been there 20 years and I loved how she said the "she was on our side" to make sure we didn't overdo it and order too much food. She really helped to make the meal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Crabs aren't the only awesome dish.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Outstanding food and great atmosphere. While they are known for their stone crabs, their hash browns and fried green tomatoes are outstanding as well. Suggest you start with the chopped salad which is awesome.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Live in miami, had never been, and will never go back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

I expected a long wait and huge crowds, so that didn't bother us. What really bothers me is that they call my name for a table so I lose my spot at the bar only to stand in line for 15 minutes (just leave me at the bar until our table is ready!) On top of that it's like you are sitting in a cafeteria - loud crowded, ppl always zipping by. The "experience" everyone talks about is subpar already.

Cue the waitress. Might as well have been a monkey wearing a tuxedo. No intro, didnt know anything about the menu, or seafood at all for that matter, checked on us maybe once, water glasses were empty for ten minutes at a time. A complete joke. The bus boys had more personality and we literally told them that and thanked them.

We ordered surf & turf, select stone claws, chopped salad, and sauteed mushrooms. I've had beef jerky that was more tender than joe's medium rare filet. The lobster was tough, not succulent. The mushrooms were cold. Salad was ok, but I don't give too much credit for not screwing up a salad. The stone crabs were good but not better than anywhere else that I would go to get stone crab for a third/half the price.

We expected the bill to have gratuity included after the way we were treated. After 4 drinks and all that food, our total money wasted on an over-hyped, over-priced, and under-delivered "experience" was $250 not including tip. We gave them $20 which was for the barkeep and busboys and wrote that on the check. I doubt management will read it.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A must go to restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Where do I start??? Beautiful setting, amazing staff that wait on you hand and foot without being in your face. You must order the famous Stone Crab Claws, fried green tomatoes and the chowder. Portions are huge so great way to share. We went for lunch as we had heard they do not take reservations and are really busy and long wait at night. A one hundred year old, family owned restaurant only open in the fall and winter. 5 stars

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Stone Crab also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Stone Crab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's Stone Crab, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.