We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm surprised this hotel is rated 3 stars, it really should be two” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dorset Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Miami Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dorset Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1720 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #118 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“I'm surprised this hotel is rated 3 stars, it really should be two”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2007

I stayed at the Dorset on a Saturday night. For last minute travel during peak periods, Saturday night stays are hard to come by at most of the better hotels in SoBe, so I settled on the Dorset. Its definitely a bare-bones two star hotel. Even checking in was a hassle - they have room for at most 3 cars in the driveway - I had a to keep circling the block until a space freed up. The hotel is pretty worn - needs a paintjob, carpet replacement, and lots of updating. Its not awful...but I'd only recommend it for a single night stay and then you should go elsewhere, I did. The rooms are very minimalist.

  • Liked — The rooftop pool was a nice place to catch some sun
  • Disliked — The worn condition
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    24
    15
    14
    5
See reviews for
1
16
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Springfield
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Dorset in July of 2006. I've been meaning to write about it because after reading reviews in TripAdvisor I was a little worried. However, yes, the carpet may have some stains and some walls may need to be painted, BUT the hotel is not bad at all. The view wasn't bad (it was facing the garden that divides both buildings), also, the bathroom was nice, the beds were very comfortable. The walls are a little thin but we were fine.

We found that most hotels there are so expensive and most hotels in South Beach are old buildings that have been re-done. Unless you are able to spend a ridiculous amount of money on a very expensive hotel I would stay at the Dorset. We got it for a good price and the location was perfect. The hotel is right accross from the Delano Hotel (where a lot of hollywood stars stay) and it's only one block from the beach, and around the corner of great shopping! If you are not so pickie about a couple of stains in the carpet or the walls then I would encourage you to stay here! The pool may have not been the greatest but who wants a pool with the ocean one block away?

OH, and also, the staff wasn't rude to us, unless we got lucky for a whole week! We would probably go back if get the chance.

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — thin walls
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodslee
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2007

A group of 11 of us stayed at the Dorset for 2 days before boarding a Carnival cruise. I must agree the price was a bit excessive for this property, but we quickly learned South Beach is expensive. The rooms were clean and the beds and bedding were excellent. The hallways and pool area definitely showed signs of wear, as did the reception area. We all found the front desk clerk to be accomodating and the doorman was extremely pleasant and helpful. We especially enjoyed the location and the patio(where we spent a great deal of time people watching). We were unable to book a room(at the Dorset) for the night we spent in South Beach after the cruise and I can say for certain - it can be MUCH worse!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2007

This hotel is, in my opinion, a 1.6 star hotel. The refurbish from a few years back is now in disrepair. The lobby furniture is dirty and worn. The carpet is stained and offensive. The room fixtures are showing signs of rust and/or water damage. The shower opens directly into the room, offering no privacy whatever. Noises from adjacent rooms as well as from the street and alley ways are prevalent. The front desk staff is usually limited to one employee per shift, and therefore slow. I had a question for the front desk and the employee was on break and had no qualms about telling me so that I would not disturb him. I listened to one staff member chew out a dissatisfied customer over the phone. Internet service is not free as we were told before booking and usually requires you to be in the lobby to access. Location is fabulous. The rooms are unquestionably overpriced. I would not stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of upkeep/cleanliness
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2007

First let's start with the positives. This hotel is in a great location, the beds are huge and housekeeping does a good job cleaning the rooms..

Now for the negatives:

1.The receptionist on duty when we were there (the blonde referred to in previous reviews) was rude and unhelpful. On the day of our checkout the desk was unattended till she turned up at 9:30am - no apologies and some people had been waiting to check out since 8am.
2. The carpets are stained to a point that is disgusting - more like a doss house than a hotel.
3. The air conditioning units are old and noisy - kept us awake all night - we had to purchase ear plugs in the end..
4. The water pressure in the shower is non-existent
5. The walls are stained and need repainting
6. The advertised "wireless internet in every room" only works sometimes and only in some rooms.
7. The rooftop pool is tiny and anyway the pool area is cordoned off with warning tapes because the floor tiles are all coming off, and it's too dangerous to walk on.

We do a lot of travel and have used trip advisor as a basis for choosing our hotel on many ocassions and have always been pleased with the outcome. The other reviews for this hotel are a bit mixed, but they do not capture just how bad the hotel actually is.

This would be the worst hotel we have stayed in, in years and we would recommend to everyone to give it a miss.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Overall quality of accommodation
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, KY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2007

I booked our stay directly with the hotel and they had our reservation wrong when we arrived. They almost tried to tell us that we couldn't stay both nights. True to ther reviewers, they need to give the blond front desk clerk an attitude adjustment, paint the walls and clean the carpet. However, for the price and location it's okay. The beds and showers are clean, the rooms are big and decorated with IKEA furniture. It appears that if you stay one more block off the beach you can find the same type hotel, with friendlier staff and nicer rooms. We won't go back, it's not worth being treated rudely. The next time we go we're going to try the Clay or the Cadet.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — The rude front desk clerk, the dirty walls and dirty carpet
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2007

We stayed at the Dorset for one night before our cruise. The service we received on check in was very poor, as we had to wait over 30 minutes to be checked in (and there was no one else waiting).

The room was great, very clean, infact, the whole hotel was constantly being cleaned, which was great. The bed was very big and comfortable. Yes, there were some stains on the carpet, and there was very little water pressure in the shower. Our room was also next to the elevator motor, so it was quite noisy at night.

For one night stay, overall the room was fine, and the location was great, we walked everywhere, and were only one block from the beach.

  • Liked — Great Location, Clean Hotel
  • Disliked — Poor service
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dorset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorset Hotel

Address: 1720 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorset Hotel 4*
Also Known As:
Dorset Hotel Miami Beach
Dorset Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dorset Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dorset Hotel to your Saves list