We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent and Comfortable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dorset Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Miami Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dorset Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1720 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #118 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
A TripAdvisor Member
“Decent and Comfortable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2005

This past memorial day, my girls and I stayed at this hotel. Everything was fine except for the attitude of the front desk clerk during the daytime on the weekdays. Instead of being accomodating and polite, like the rest of the hotel staff she decided to persue an arguement when we encountered a mishap. As a matter of fact, she feuled the arguement to last longer than necessary. Needless to say she was the major drawback... the rooftop pool small, but extremely soothing and peaceful was a nice amenity. It allowed us to get away from the hooplap without really going anywhere. The staff (minus ms. lady) was very nice, spoke mostly spanish but that was a good thing for me seeing as how I needed to brush up on my spanish skills. The room was a decent size not too small, the odd thing was that the shower and sink was on one side on the room and the toilet on the other??? No big deal just strange.

Price and location on point, on Collins but far enough up the block so that all the action wasn't right there in our face. I would definitely book this hotel again providing the desk clerk get a few lessons in manners. All in all a good value for the money.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    24
    15
    14
    5
See reviews for
1
16
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, TN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2005

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Dorset for one night prior to living for a cruise. We found the hotel to be very clean and really liked the decor in the room. The bed was huge with a big fluffy down comforter and lots of pillows. The "bathroom" is really just a toilet room, a shower that opens up into the bedroom, and a sink with mirror out in the open... but we thought this was a great set up. It makes it impossible for anyone to completely monopolize the bathroom while you are getting ready for a night in SoBe! Our room was quiet, clean, and just what we were looking for. Very convenient to the beach, the clubs, Lincoln Mall, restaurants etc. The rooftop pool and lounging areas are a great touch. Overall a good value for money considering its in the heart of South Beach and so close to the beach.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2005

My husband and I stayed here after our cruise for 2 nights. The rooms are a good size. South beach hotels are notorious for small rooms but this hotel it wasn't that bad. It has modern inspired minimalist deco. It was clean but there were stains on the carpet and the room furniture was definitely Ikea quality. Compared to the hotels surrounding it in the same price range this one is by far more inviting. If you are interested in shopping at the lincoln road outdoor mall it is one block away...prime spot and the hotel is located right across the road from The Delano...stunning. There are other very high end hotels in the general radius so celebraty spotting is easy from The Dorset. We have stayed in some nice hotels around the world so if you have experienced what 5 star is, this would be a 3 at most. The staff was helpful and the morning complimentary breakfast selection was surprisingly good.
Just know South beach is a expensive place to vacation I recommend not getting fooled into picking a hotel based on the cheap price. If you could walk Miami and see these cheaply priced hotels before you booked you would have wished you spent the extra $50-$60 on something else.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2005

Stayed at this Hotel in Jan 05 with my husband and 2 kids...loved the room, especially the huge beds. The Hotel was very clean the staff friendly and the Receptionist very helpful. We would most definitely stay there again, it was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2005

Some friends and I stayed overnight at the Dorset before leaving on a cruise. We were quite pleased with the hotel and thought it was a real bargain for its location in the heart of South Beach. After reading other reviews, we had braced ourselves for potential issues with the front desk staff but we found them all to be helpful and friendly. We agreed we would stay at this hotel again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2005

Just wanted to drop a line to let everybody know how great the service
was at the Dorset,especially from Gracia the front desk person.
She was very helpful at checkin at helping with restaurant info.
Also great room, just across the street from the beach.
Why would anyone pay the prices at the delano or national,when you
can stay here with Gracia taking care of your guest stay,and making
it a pleasant vacation.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2005

My wife and I stayed over the Jan 7-10 weekend. The weather was great and the hotel very nice($139 at Hotels). The rooms are clean and nice size with a green/silver art deco look. There certainly are not 475 rooms as this website indicates. More like 80.
At checkin we given a "La Brisas" Champagne welcome with a glass for each of us.
The rooftop pool, has a great view, and is just about finished getting a new deck of ceramic. It was nice there but we spent all of our sun time at the beach, 1/2 block away. Lincoln Rd. Mall is about two blocks away and a great place to eatand shop. Try the Chocolate Mouse Cheesecake at Nexxt Restaurant it is awesome.
We valet parked with Surfcomber across the street for $25/all day. Can save $5 about 1 1/2 block away with Self Park.
The girl everyone has mentioned was at checkin and very pleasant, but maybe notso happy the other days we saw her.
Overall we definitely would stay again and were very happy with our experience.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dorset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorset Hotel

Address: 1720 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorset Hotel 4*
Also Known As:
Dorset Hotel Miami Beach
Dorset Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dorset Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dorset Hotel to your Saves list