We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay, but no ESPN?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dorset Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Miami Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dorset Hotel
Save Saved
You added Dorset Hotel to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1720 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Winter Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice stay, but no ESPN?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Everything was great about our hotel! The location, right off Collins avenue in the heart of Miami Beach (South Beach) was great. The vibe was great. The rate was $100 (taxes included) was amazing! The room was great! The complementary drinks at the bar for 1 hour a day was generous. But, you know what? The cable in the room did not have ESPN!? Can you believe that? It felt like 1983 all over again. After coming back from attending the Gators and Hurricanes game, we wanted to watch another top 10 game in our room (because we were tired) just to find out they purposely don't put ESPN in your room. WHAT?? Guy at check in said the owner does it on purpose so that people will leave their rooms, come down to the bar or restaurant to watch the game and make more money for the hotel. Makes sense, but didn't meet our needs.

Room Tip: Try getting a room towards the back of the hotel away from the live DJ in the front. Ask owner for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    24
    15
    14
    5
See reviews for
1
16
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
brooklyn,ny
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

we spent the weekend at the dorset hotel in miami and had a great time. I would def recommend this hotel if your not looking to break the bank while visiting miami. there's a great roof top pool with beds and a bar where you can relax, drink and interact with other guest of the hotel.there's also agreat bar in the looby along with sushi restaurant. you can go next door to the catalina and enjoy their pool and restaurants. it's a win win if you choose either of these hotels to enjoy your visit. we will be back!

Staff was GREAT!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington, delaware
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My Boyfriend planned a birthday weekend away for me! We picked up our complimentary shuttle from airport to our hotel picked. Very large black shuttle. This was included in our Hotel fees. We were staying at the Dorcet that is apart of the South Beach Hotel Group. We checked in at the Catalina Hotel and we were upgraded due to my Birthday!! Our room was located in the Dorset Hotel. We walked next door thru a restaurant to find our room on the 3rd floor. We were in the Rock Star Room! It was large with a King Bed. A balcony overlooked the tree courtyard. Really nice!
We went downstairs to the hotels complimentary Happy Hour. We purchased thru Tyrelle a 2 hour all you can drink party followed by limo van ride to Club Set. The club was amazing great club music all night. Drinks were pricey. We didn't need any drinks due to our property festivities.
Sunday morning we used the hotels complimentary bikes to find our way to the Berkeley Cafe for Brunch this was under $35.00.
Relaxed by the roof top pool which was located on the top of our hotel! They offer a nightly Happy hour. The hotel offers nice seating outside. My boyfriend and I relaxed outside. We enjoyed happy Hour at the restaurant in out Hotel. Best prices for Sushi and drinks in the area I"m sure.
We enjoyed a pizza for dinner from Groovey's for under $15.00.
Chairs for beach as well as towels are available complimentary thru the hotel.
We took the their shuttle back to the airport. Overall, I'd tell anyone who wants to party stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, a
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I stayed at The Dorcet for 3 nights, and it was amazing. The room artfully decorated and was very comfortable with a tempur-pedic mattress and luxurious comforter. The Kung Fu sushi attached to the building was delish, and had a great happy hour which included $4 rolls and $5 drinks, doubt that could be beaten anywhere in Miami, Beach. The bartenders gave us free drinks, which I though was because they were awesome because they were (Dennis and Alayna), but it turns out all of the bars owned by the SoBe company treat guests with free cocktails for an hour each day. I loved my time here and I will definitely come back!

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

This is a really great hotel and the restaurant Kung fu sushi is amazing!! I def love this place! The rooftop pool is also a must visit very chill and super exclusive. But what I liked the most was the concierge services on their southbeachgroup.com website. They really helped me sort through...and pick the most exciting and fun adventures in south beach and surrounding Miami.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Classic South Beach hotel with Beverly Hills Service. Eddy at the front door sweeps you up from curb to room and manages to be there when you need anything. Angie the bar hostess and all the servers at the restaurant are attentive and engaging. No false attitudes. The rooms are well done and our delux king room had a wonderful tempurpedic mattress and soft comforter.

But, don't forget anything at the roof top pool; they have no effective list and found and instead swept everything into the garbage; 5 pairs of shooed, 4 tips, and a purse. The manager really was not effective dealing with that!

Japanese food in restaurant is excellent! Drinks are a bit pricey and the 18% gratuity is already included always... So additional tipping is on top of that, but they earn it with great service.

Looking forward to spending more South Beach Nights at The Dorset.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

The Catalina is made up of 3 hotels in a row on Collins Ave: The Maxine, The Catalina, and the Dorset. It is THE BEST LOCATION EVER because there is a Sbarro, a Walgreens, a bodega, and a great sandwich/gelato place within a block and a half of the hotel. Plus, the beach is across the street. Beware-global warming or some crazy weather related phenomena has caused jellyfish to invade from April to September so keep little babies at the pool. When you look at the lifeguard station, look for the PURPLE flag. That means jellyfish. The rooms and lobbys are GORGEOUS and very hip and so are the grounds. At 5-6 PM there's some really pumping club music in the lobbies so if you're a light sleeper, ask for the HIGHEST floor. There are 2 pools: one at the Dorset and one at the Maxine. The Dorset is on the roof which is TOTALLY COOL but inappropriate for kids because of tipsy ladies partying with teenie bikinis. On the other side of the roof, though, is an astro-turfed patio with lounge chairs and trees obstruct the view of the pool. It was neat to be up there and the party doesn't get started on that side until nightfall. The pool at the Maxine is low key, no bar, just a lot of bed sized cabanas to hang out on and partial shade. Heaven for you and for your kids. The service was great except for the cleaning ladies. They were a little rude with eyerolling and rapid spanish spoken to me and I don't speak it. When the room was cleaned, though, it was clean.

Room Tip: High floor if your a light sleeper, The Maxine if you want to be super close to a kid friendly pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dorset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorset Hotel

Address: 1720 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#49 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorset Hotel 4*
Also Known As:
Dorset Hotel Miami Beach
Dorset Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dorset Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.