We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for kids? depends on your kids...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dorset Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Miami Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dorset Hotel
Save
You added Dorset Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1720 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #117 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great for kids? depends on your kids...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

The Catalina is made up of 3 hotels in a row on Collins Ave: The Maxine, The Catalina, and the Dorset. It is THE BEST LOCATION EVER because there is a Sbarro, a Walgreens, a bodega, and a great sandwich/gelato place within a block and a half of the hotel. Plus, the beach is across the street. Beware-global warming or some crazy weather related phenomena has caused jellyfish to invade from April to September so keep little babies at the pool. When you look at the lifeguard station, look for the PURPLE flag. That means jellyfish. The rooms and lobbys are GORGEOUS and very hip and so are the grounds. At 5-6 PM there's some really pumping club music in the lobbies so if you're a light sleeper, ask for the HIGHEST floor. There are 2 pools: one at the Dorset and one at the Maxine. The Dorset is on the roof which is TOTALLY COOL but inappropriate for kids because of tipsy ladies partying with teenie bikinis. On the other side of the roof, though, is an astro-turfed patio with lounge chairs and trees obstruct the view of the pool. It was neat to be up there and the party doesn't get started on that side until nightfall. The pool at the Maxine is low key, no bar, just a lot of bed sized cabanas to hang out on and partial shade. Heaven for you and for your kids. The service was great except for the cleaning ladies. They were a little rude with eyerolling and rapid spanish spoken to me and I don't speak it. When the room was cleaned, though, it was clean.

Room Tip: High floor if your a light sleeper, The Maxine if you want to be super close to a kid friendly pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    25
    15
    14
    5
See reviews for
1
16
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We booked this at the last minute through an online booking site since we wanted to spend more time in the Miami Beach area. The price was MUCH cheaper than the boutique hotel at which we had stayed the previous day. When we booked online, the web site said we were staying at the Catalina. We get there are are told that we are actually staying at the Dorset, situated right next door, that is a bit fancier that the Catalina. Cool! The Catalina group of hotels is actually made of three hotels situated next to each other on Collins Ave.

The room was very nice with a minimal feel to the furniture: very IKE-ish. Bathroom was very clean. The Dorset also has a rooftop pool and bar with sunbeds. It is staffed with a bartender and an attendant who is there to set up your bed, get you towels, etc. Dude is a riot! The sun beds have misters to keep the heat down.

The Catalina group of hotels also have free alcoholic drinks from 7 ot 8 pm, that means you can hit the bar at any of the three hotels during that hour :)

The hotel also has beach chairs available at the beach itself. Some hotels have folding chairs that you have to lug to the beach yourself.

Two of the three hotels have restaurants: one is a japanese fusion cuisine place while the other serves more general fare.

We loved this place and plan on staying again the next time we hit Miami Beach

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Let me start from the beginning. We had booked at the Riviera South Beach hotel months in adv. They got overbooked and they decided to put us in this dump of a place. The hotel shuttle on our way in was disgusting. It stoked so bad we had to open windows to breathe. Then we were asked to cheek in at Catalina next door. Wait was an hour long just to speak with some one. And there was someone already at the check in table with the same situation as us. There was a long queue of bags lined up till the entry. Horrible experience.

Then they tell us they have upgraded us to their suite next door. This Dorset place is like a dungeon. No lights, no windows, small creepy restroom. We avoided the hotel room altogether for a 2 day stay here. Staff was nice to us but the place is just horrible to stay even a night. They don't have a lobby in Dorset. Just a door from the back of a restaurant. I would highly advise everyone to avoid this south beach group of hotel completely.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

I always stay at this hotel during business trips to the Miami Beach Convention Center. Stayed at the Dorset last week, and just had to comment on the amazing people who work for Catalina Group! Winston and Tyrell are an extraordinary asset the Catalina Group! Every time I stay at the Catalina, Maxine, Dorset, they accommodate me in the best way, knowing that I am a regular client, and remembering me!

Another really nice feature of the hotel are all the fun things you can do during your stay - take a bicycle for a ride in SoBe, take some beach towels and go lay out by the ocean (or under a cabana), and of course the free Internet (great!).

They also have a "happy hour" around 7pm, when you can come claim a free drink at their bar. When you check-in, you are given a bunch of coupons you can "cash-in" during your stay - for breakfast, drinks, etc.

Want more? How about a free shuttle from the MIA airport to the hotel and back?? You got it! That's a $100 savings, at LEAST!

Catalina makes your stay easy and enjoyable! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: El Grande is the biggest room in the Hotel - definitely the very very best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrick, New York, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

I checked to the Dorset in for an overnight with Vincent Gazzara at the end of March. The hotel was so clean and beutiful. The room was amazing with the best tempurpedic bed, flat sreen tv and climate control. The rooftop pool was a great luxury and so nice and convienient. The in hotel resturaunt Kung Fu sushi was delicious and the ambiance was outstanding. The waitstaff at Kung Fu as well as the staff at the hotel were all very helpful and friendly. I will definitely recommend staying here to all of my friends and I look forward to staying there again very soon!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

O wow... Catalina property (Dorset Hotel)... They know hospitality...

The rooms were perfect. Temperpedic beds, huge flat screens, terrace, split bathrooms, hard wood floors, every ammenity, Kung Fu Sushi (restaurant) downstairs. Bar in the lobby. Great staff and the concierge rocked....

Thank you Dorset, we will be back for sure. perfect 10 across the boards!!

If we can ever help market you, let us know... We def. support good hospitality...
www.skysthelimitmusic.com (Vinny)

Thank You!!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Village, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

I stayed at the Dorset (Hotel Catalina) for three nights in Feb 2010. It sits just across the street from the Hotel Delano and other 700/night properties. It is a very artsy, hip, place with a European flair. The hotel is divided into the Catalina and the Dorset (two different buildings). The Dorset is an upgrade and is where the Kung Fu Kitchen is as well as a great bar. The night life is very decent here with 20 and 30 somethings dressed very chic sampling sushi and other great food. When you walk in and out of your room, you basically walk through the restaurant and bar to get to Collins.

This hotel is not on the beach but is right across the street. They have a beach operation in that you can reserve chairs and umbrellas etc. Service is pretty good but not great. Staff was full of lots of pretty 20 year olds that were fairly well trained but more interested in the "scene' than anything else. All told, anything I write here will pale in comparison to the location. This place is freaking dead on located right where you want across from the Delano but you are paying 275-300 vs. 700+ just across the street.

Don't expect to sleep alot and the wireless was hit and miss. The Kung Fu Kitchen rocks until 1am so ask for a room towards the back of the hotel and the sound won't be a problem. Gratuity is included on all restaurant and bar bills so look at your bill carefully so you don't over tip.

If you are a hip, swinging couple, a solo, or gay this is your hotel. If you are AARP members and can't speak hip, don't stay here, these whipper snappers won't be your cup of tea. If you're a big time business traveler and need a full scale business hotel, pass on this one. If you aren't sure and are adventurous, give this a try, I thought it was fun and near the action.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#80 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 2,978 reviews
City Center
The Redbury South Beach
The Redbury South Beach
#7 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Gale South Beach
Gale South Beach
#34 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,119 reviews
SLS South Beach
#35 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,144 reviews
National Hotel Miami Beach
#68 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorset Hotel

Address: 1720 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorset Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Also Known As:
Dorset Hotel Miami Beach
Dorset Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dorset Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.