We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Island House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Island House to your Saves list
Island House
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   1428 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Nautilus)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 24 Miami Beach B&B and Inns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very good located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

I was really happy with the location at South Beach! You get what you payed for. Booked it for the second time after 3 weeks holiday because we found it to be affordable, decent and central. The breakfast was bad (sugarbomb!) but didn't really expect much either. You could also borrow chairs to bring to the beach and it's 24 hr reception which was nice. The staff was friendly and tried to help you out as much as possible :) Be aware of 100 dollar cash deposit for your room when you arrive-if you dont keep your receipt you dont get your money back at checkout. And also-you can get noise from the streets at nightime -but ey, that's what you get if you want central!

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    44
    34
    15
    23
See reviews for
12
44
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pace del Mela, Italy
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

The whole area around Miami Beach is rather expensive so we can't complain about the under-the-average room quality, since the price we paid was pretty low. Bad things first: our room window was "blinded" by the concrete wall of the next door building, the separation being a narrow and noisy (due to the AC systems) alley. Good things now: the location! The hotel is within walking distance from all you may want (restaurants, shops, beach, bars,...). The hotel provides you with sea-towels, which we appreciated. Breakfast is a self-service with several items to choice from: good. Staff? Not particularly friendly, but they are always there, should you need anything.

Room Tip: All rooms on the right (North) are noisy; I can't say if the rooms on the left side are noisy to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

Me and my boyfriend planned our first cruise together and decided to stay one night in Miami since that is where we had to port onto the ship. We weren't treated the greatest upon arrival.We arrived around 2pm and they made us walk around town for a hour until our room was ready with ALL our luggage being tourist and all; not knowing where to go. And let me remind you, I work at a hotel at front desk and have great experience with treating customers with up-most respect! We were walked up to our room and helped with our luggage which was nice. But, when we got into the room the beds were placed in odd areas. The blinds didn't close all the way. The shower window was definitely see through and there wasn't any curtains in it. Our TV was VERY old and stat-icky. They're was guest who kept us up all night long screaming to one another. They call it non-smoking, but I could smell pot from the hallway which traveled into our room.. It was do-able for one night stay... Since I work at a hotel I understand the pains of cleaning after people... So I had the room stripped for the housekeeper. This hotel could use a major picker-upper, spring cleaning, technology updates, and new beds! The bed was harder than a rock! Talking about trying to see the beach for my first time and my whole body was sore from this bed!

Room Tip: Somewhere else unless it's one night! Trust me please!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for a couple of days, the location of the hotel is perfect, one block away from ocean drive. Everything else is bad, rooms, service, security, dirty. You get what you paid for in this hotel. If your on a budget and dont have any other option stay, but if you have other options dont stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Well where do i start. Island house seemed ok for a group of 4. A couple and two friends in separate rooms. We arrived and learnt it was a dump. Everything is rundown. The floors, walls and beds are all rubbish.
The reason i am compelled to write this review is because of an incident that occurred while staying here. My friends in another room caused damages in their room and when we checked out we told the receptionist there was damages, we were going to key west and we would leave some bags and return in a few days time.
When we arrived, we met a new member of staff. He sounded eastern european and he was an idiot. He was new but his social skills were as good as a wall. He informed us our bags could not be released because the man with the key had left. Lol are you SERIOUS? The room with damages that i didnt stay in were told they could not stay in the hotel and they needed to pay 120 dollars. On top of all this they lost our reservation for the night so we arrived back in miami from key west without a room. To make matters worst i felt my girlfriend and i were targeted even though we did not stay in the other room. The next day we got our bags back however my friends bags were held hostage until the fine was paid. They called the police because they were told it was ok previously. The damages they did was a hole in the wall due to one falling over and hitting his head. It really costs about 15 dollars to fix. Island house racked the price up to 150 dollars fine the next day.
Long story short island house promised a room and no fines and did not deliver. They held our bags hostage even though it wasnt our room and then upped the fine for my friends. Stay in tropics hotel down the road. It has a pool, is cheaper and ALOT nicer. Island house doesnt even know any tours etc. absolute hole of a place. I hope nobody gives them their business

Stayed September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Great location, one block from ocean drive. Loved the continental breakfast and how late it is open, a great cushion for the late nights. Also loved the front porch, our best nights were spent drinking and making friends just hanging out.

The beds however had stains upon arrival, dont know if they just weren't cleaned or were literally stained but it was nasty. Tiny but functional bathroom.

You definitely get what little you paid for. But it you don't want to dish out any more, you cant complain.

OH! They charged an extra $25 per night for having a 3rd person in the room. Was not aware of that going in.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

pros-a block from beach/Ocean Dr.
-a few blocks from Washington and Lincoln Dr. (many restaurants, clubs, shopping)
-the price
-continental breakfast(think to go items, yogurt, fruit, muffins. not eggs, bacon and pancakes)

cons- the service is pretty slack and unprofessional. there seems to be only one to two people working there at a time. it takes forever to get rooms cleaned.
the rooms are very basic(white walls, tube tvs, old carpet) you'll find a few spots here and there. its not totally disgusting. if your main thing is to have a place to sleep and change, it works. if your looking for a spot that's going to cater to you and have the amenities of a Hilton forget about it.

I would surely go there again. it all depends on the standards you are looking for. the area is safe to go out at night anytime. and the staff is friendly and helpful. its about 20 minute drive from the airport which will cost you $33.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Island House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island House

Address: 1428 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Nautilus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Island House 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Island House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island House Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.