We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Happy Birthday Italian Style"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Locanda

La Locanda
419 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6617
(305) 538-6277
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
La Locanda is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #66 of 843 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Fifth Street
Transit: Public bus on the corner of 5th street and Washington Ave.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“"Happy Birthday Italian Style"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us by a friend who lives in Miami. We needed a place to celebrate a friend's birthday party during the Winter Music Conference. I called a week in advance to make a reservation and spoke to Francisco. I immediately knew this was going to be a great experience for us. Francisco quickly put me at ease and assured me he would take care of everything for our party of 12-16. When we arrived at the restaurant we were greeted very warmly by Pablo and seated immediately. He made us feel very welcomed. Our server for the evening, Jacob, was amazing. He was very knowledgeable about the menu and offered great suggestions for choices on the menu. We were a bit of a raucous bunch, celebrating a birthday, Jacob was always on top of whatever our needs were. There was no delay in food service. He got everything right and was extremely attentive to our needs. He is a gem in their cap. The food was fantastic. OVEN BAKED FOCCIA! OMG, delicious. The fennel salad with tomatoes and shaved parmesan, divine. My entree was clams. mussels, shrimp and calamari over linguine in a deliciously light sauce of lemon and garlic, superb. Plenty of prosecco was drunk by all and the restaurant provided a supreme tiramisu for the birthday cake. La Locanda is my new favorite Italian restaurant on the beach.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    106
    21
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pontypridd
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Went here for lunch - nice air conditioned restaurant on such a hot day! Had pizzas which were large and tasted good. Service good, a nice option not far from the beach.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Price, Great Atmosphere, Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

4 college girls spending spring break in South Beach can get expensive. We were recommended to go here by another tourist who comes to South Beach all the time. This was one of the best meals we had in South Beach. We split two bottles of wine, we each got an appetizers, entree, and dessert and it came out to be about 30 dollars a person. For South Beach, that is a steal! The owner is very personable as well.
I highly recommend the "purse pockets." I went to Florence while studying abroad and got this in Florence, and it tasted the exact same in South Beach. You will not be able to find that type of meal anywhere else!

A lot of locals go there as well, so you know its good! The atmosphere is a mixture of everything, there were families, college girls like us, natives and people on dates. Recommend to anyone!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good food and quick service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We came here one early evening before we had to head to the airport to go home.

The food was good - especially the pasta with ragu - and the service was very friendly and efficient.

We didn't go for them but the pizzas looked very good too!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Only wow!
Good selection of wines and service ***
Fabulous place in Miami.
The owner accept everyone with smile, he is offered an apero or digestif or dessert...
The pruscuitto pizza with aragulla is very excellent with really italian taste.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Locanda also viewed

Miami Beach, FL
Miami Beach, FL
 
Miami Beach, FL
 

Been to La Locanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Locanda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.