We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Nuvo

Cafe Nuvo
412 Espanola Way, Miami Beach, FL 33139-8123 (Flamingo / Lummus)
305-534-6541
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Nuvo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #331 of 876 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Flamingo / Lummus
Cross street: Between Washington and Drexel Avenue
Description: Nuvo - Seafood and Pastas is a classic touch of the Mediterranean in the Historic Espanola Way Village in South Beach. Tucked among the lively shops and bars, it has an intimate setting with plush seating and excellent service. Offering lunch and dinner, guests can go on a gastronomic journey by exploring seafood and dishes with touches from France, Italy and Spain. It is the perfect place for a glass of wine on a romantic date or simply a conversation with friends.
Rumson, New Jersey
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“I love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Every time we are in South Beach we make a point to eat at this restaurant! Located on Espanola Way away from the bustle of Ocean Drive this hidden gem is a great spot to dine. The furnishings are eclectic chairs and couches with chill music on a lovely outdoor patio. Everything I have ever eaten here has been wonderful. This time I had the Ceasar salad which was huge and the dressing was amazing along with the lobster tagliatelle which was equally great. You won't find giant mojitos here, but the restaurant is definitely worth dining at. We will continue to go here whenever we visit South Beach.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea S, General Manager at Cafe Nuvo, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hello :

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really hope to enjoy your visit once again very soon, so you'll be able to try our many other delicious choices.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    80
    31
    25
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“One Time Only”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were looking forward to our dinner after reading the reviews and checking out the menu. We arrived at the restaurant, with a reservation, and were directed to the worst table on the patio. Most of the other tables were empty, so we were able to relocate to a cooler, more suitable location. The menu had many seafood and pasta choices. Our food was good. Service was at the bare minimum. We did not order wine, since the cheapest glass was $12. One person ordered iced tea, one soda, neither arrived. When we received the bill, with tip included, we realized why service was so poor.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea S, General Manager at Cafe Nuvo, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hello 1 Michelle:

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We're sorry to hear about this incident. Your opinion is very important to us. However we'd like to offer you 2 apetizers, 2 pastas y 2 glasses wine as a courtesy on our part. We hope to have you back again and try other choices from our menu.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A must for epicurian visitors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We are regular visitors in South Beach, and, each time we come, we try to discover new venues and local gems.

Nuvo is one such gem that we come back to every time. The location on Esponala Way takes you away to an European get away on the cheap and the atmosphere is magical.

The staff is friendly, helpful and fun. The seating outside consists of various chaises, lounges and wingchairs that simply makes you feel like royalty.

But Nuvo is all about THE FOOD. Simply amazing, delightful, creative and flavourful. You must try the Chilean sea bass or lobster risotto. To did for! An explosion of flavors and textures in your mouth.

Nuvo...you MUST go.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Andrea S, General Manager at Cafe Nuvo, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hello:

Its wonderful to read we exceeded your expectations and that you truly enjoyed our mediterranean cuisine, ambiance and service. We look forward to have you back again very soon.

Best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere with amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Walking along espaniola way in the Art Deco area we were enticed in, are we glad we were - absolutely!! The menu was incredible, went for a recommended special ( lobster tail risotto ) - just wow!!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea S, General Manager at Cafe Nuvo, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hello Rick:

Thank you so much for your review. We are very happy to hear you gave us a chance and glad you enjoyed our cuisine and ambiance. Hope to have you here with us very soon.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Excellent seafood and location. Many reviews mentioned poor service. Our experience was quite the contrary. Three different waiters checked on us routinely.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea S, General Manager at Cafe Nuvo, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really hope to enjoy your visit again very soon, so you'll be able to try our delicious choices.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Nuvo also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Nuvo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Nuvo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.