We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Food in a Trendy ChillOut Environment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tantra

Tantra
1445 Pennsylvania Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
(305) 672-4765
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tantra is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #365 of 868 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Moroccan, International, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Espanola Way
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Delicious Food in a Trendy ChillOut Environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Tantra is located in Miami Beach. The place itself is unique. The decoration is trendy and the floor is grass which they switch once a week. The food is delicious but pricey. For a romantic evening or a nice night out with friends, start at Tantra.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    17
    19
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“5 star service with a 5 star bill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Heard about this restaurant up north by a couple of friends and since i was doing business down in miami i stopped by with friends. Atmosphere is exquisite , very original and exotic. We were overlooked by the manager a little too much . I suggest he needs to lay back a little bit . Got our table . To my surprise it was very slow. But decided to stay. Our server Alex was right on top of everything . Recommended a lobster salad with Squash that was delicious. Then suggested to try their Maine lobster and Rissoto with a nice bottle of wine ,which we did . We enjoyed our stay and the food was fantastic ,service was excellent which we are not used to in south beach. But our bill was a little bit too much. Will come back tho

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We were welcomed by the manager (witch really kept an eye on our table and made sure we are well taken care of) The food is definatelly diferent but with so many italian places and steakhouses around this type of different is welcomed. It was fantastic and everything we ordered was just delicious (sea bas is a must ) .I eat fish most of the times wherever I go and this was by far the best I had. The decor of the place is very original so if you are a artsy type of person this is the place for you.Thank you,will go back soon.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
170 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Little bit of extra hype”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

At 930 the place was essentially empty. The decor and atmosphere is for a loge/club. The service and the staff are excellent very knowledgable and helpful. The menu goes over board with the hole sensual marketing slant.

The food was good but not great. The Seafood Bowl was disappointing, had to fish for food in it and there was not much lobster meat to the lobster in it. Suggest order a sea bass or another fish. The scallop appetizer had a little too much salt and soy.

Think the main attraction is the atmosphere but with an empty restaurant that was lacking.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice place... Unless your going for the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Way overhyped. Simply put this restaurant has no place being in the top 10 in Miami.

First the good. Excellent atmosphere and amazing wait staff. Attentive and helpfull in every aspect. As far as service goes this could be considered a top 10 place.

The bad. The food. We had the seafood platter to start (we were 2) and the lobster tails and shrimp were both too chewy (read over cooked and far from fresh)

Next was the seafood bowl. Same issue with the lobster and shrimp. As well as the tuna sashimi , good but nothing to write home about.

For the price of this meal and drinks (over $400) I couldn't justify the value we received.

Miami might be known for its high prices, but this is an extreme.

If your looking for a place for a club type atmosphere and some great drinks head over after 11pm.

If its a great meal you're looking for, think twice

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tantra also viewed

 
Miami Beach, FL
 

Been to Tantra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tantra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.