We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a snack” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balans Restaurant

Balans Restaurant
1022 Lincoln Road, Miami Beach, FL 33139
(305) 534 9191
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #239 of 841 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Lennox or Michigan
Description: Since 1997, Balans Restaurants in Miami have been a favorite of locals and visitors alike. It may have to do with our casual brasserie ambiance and outdoor tables. Others tell us it's our global menu, with local favorites such as Chilean Sea Bass, Jambalaya, Thai Red Curry and more. We think it's a combination uniquely our own... Sumptuous food, comfortable prices and an experience that will entice you to linger. Come and join us for consistently good quality food at affordable prices and served by our team of friendly staff. Don't forget to join our royalty program for additional rewards.
Sussex
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Great for a snack”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Walk along this road and you are hassled all the time to sit down, have something eat or drink. After a while its tiring. We choose here because they had a $5 menu for food and we were fed up with being ripped of for rubbish. What could go wrong, order a few $5 sides to share. IT WAS FANTASTIC, hot, spicy where ordered and a breath of fresh air. No of us wanted a drink and we were given tap water with no problem. In all we ordered $40 worth of sides and had a great time. It was early evening around 6.30pm, so I am sure they wouldn't be so happy to do this later on.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    134
    40
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beatrice, NE
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ok. Service questionable.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

The hawker out front basically physically blocked me and corralled me into a chair. The server was nice, until we told her we were only having a drink each and 1 app to share. Then she pretty much ignored us. The ceviche was good, but I would NOT recommend this place at all.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
303 reviews 303 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
“Meh, at best!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Meh! Took some friends out to dinner here. It was not great. The service was very slow. All the food was very spicy even stuff that was not supposed to be. Not sure if they screwed up the order or not. Many better restaurants to check out than here. Wifi was bad also. Only positive was the happy hour discounts but the mojitos we had were very sour and not very good.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

My wife and I love to eat on Lincoln Road. We recent ate at Balans for lunch. We were able to eat outside as the best activity is people watching on Lincoln Rd. My wife ordered the Cob Salad which she loved. I ordered a burger but had to send it back because it was overcooked. their second attempt was much better. The fries were very good also. Weekend menu offers brunch items as well.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A breakfast or lunch must! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

At least twice a year I meet my clients here and it's their dining stomping grounds and I love it! On a busy restaurant you can relax inside or outside seating on the fabulous Lincoln Mall Road. Food is always fresh and served quickly but you are never rushed. I had the two egg breakfast which has the most amazing hash browns ever! coffee is fantastic too.I've been here for lunch too same great service and food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balans Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Balans Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balans Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.