We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good food right on Lincoln Rd.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Van Dyke Cafe - CLOSED

Van Dyke Cafe
846 Lincoln Rd, Miami Beach, FL 33139
(305) 534-3600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
King George, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pretty good food right on Lincoln Rd.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stopped here while we were looking for a place to eat on Lincoln Road. We mainly chose this restaurant for the location and that is was priced a bit better than other restaurants on Lincoln Road. The food was pretty good. I had a pasta dish with a cream sauce, which was really rich, but good. Overall the food was pretty good, and if in the area I would try again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    143
    70
    23
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“SEXIEST BARTENDER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I visited Miami Beach and stopped for a drink at the Van Dyke after a furious shopping session on Lincoln Road. After my first Bloody Mary I felt hypnotized by the handsome Colombian bartender and ended up staying the whole afternoon. The food was very good and the background jazz was just great. The service of my Romeo was superb and I felt that I was in a movie with Antonio Banderas......... I highly recommend this cafe, next time i will visit at night to listen to some live jazz!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fabulous restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I travel to MB two or three times a year.... The Van Dyke is a MUST!

Food is great, service and prices are right
But,most significantly, manager is a real professional! Known him for years, yet don't know his name , ( from Philly and drives a Harley ) He is so thoughtful , shakes your hand and makes certain that you have what you ordered promptly ....can't say enough about him.... Business needs people like him..,,

M/M David Greve
Pittsburgh

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dfw
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Food and People Watching”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Loved this restaurant. It seemed like it was german themed with the decor and the staff uniforms. Situated in a great location in the middle of Lincoln Rd., this restaurant is great for people watching and enjoying the morning, afternoon or evening. I ordered the Omelet and the servings were gigantic!

Staff was very attentive and I would definitely come back here again during my next visit!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, B.C.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Funplace to sit outside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Situated on Lincoln Rd. in the heart of Miami Beach. Nice place to sit outside if not too hot. Service was marginal but the waitress was friendly but the restaurant was pretty busy. Food was decent though not exceptional. We selected the spot primarilarily for its location.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Dyke Cafe also viewed

 
Miami Beach, FL
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van Dyke Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.