We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to view people walking and have a Drink.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Van Dyke Cafe - CLOSED

Van Dyke Cafe
846 Lincoln Rd, Miami Beach, FL 33139
(305) 534-3600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Level Contributor
109 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice place to view people walking and have a Drink.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

It is a nice place to have a drink and see people walking in Lincoln Road. Food is not great and very little options to share appetisers while having drinks. The fried Goat cheese is really good (appetiser) though.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    144
    70
    23
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Terrific ambiance, great music venue!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We came specifically for the music but were pleasantly surprised with the overall atmosphere. Friendly staff, amazing variety of music. Highly recommended for true music lovers!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, CT
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Huge variety menu, this is a great place for lunch or informal dinner. The staff is exceptional. Caught in a downpour at lunch time our waitress issued us inside to an open table, provided free coffee and insisted on a plastic take home bag for my expensive camera. With many places to choose from in the Lincoln Road- Mall area, this one is the tallest, and worth the visit.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near Geneva
Level Contributor
167 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“An old favorite remains excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Have been having lunch at Van Dyke's for years and it's nice to note that the quality, service and value remain as good as ever. The outside terrace on Lincoln Road is a a great place to watch the world go by, the menu has extensive choices and the food remains very good. My friends tell me that the evening music sessions are also excellent and will try on the next visit.

Worth noting that Van Dyke is always busy while other restaurants in the area desperately try to hook passers by to eat at them. Only disappointment is that the nearby Girardelli ice cream place has closed...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“It was a great surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

we did`t know this place and stop there for a late dinner. We loved the menu, with a variaty of food and drinks, and the great part was that on the second floor there was jazz playing, FOR FREE. We were in the street but you still can hear the music although the people walking by. Nice decoration and clean bathrooms. we will be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Dyke Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van Dyke Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.