We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to view people walking and have a Drink.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Van Dyke Cafe - CLOSED

Van Dyke Cafe
846 Lincoln Rd, Miami Beach, FL 33139
(305) 534-3600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice place to view people walking and have a Drink.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

It is a nice place to have a drink and see people walking in Lincoln Road. Food is not great and very little options to share appetisers while having drinks. The fried Goat cheese is really good (appetiser) though.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    143
    70
    23
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Terrific ambiance, great music venue!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We came specifically for the music but were pleasantly surprised with the overall atmosphere. Friendly staff, amazing variety of music. Highly recommended for true music lovers!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, CT
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Huge variety menu, this is a great place for lunch or informal dinner. The staff is exceptional. Caught in a downpour at lunch time our waitress issued us inside to an open table, provided free coffee and insisted on a plastic take home bag for my expensive camera. With many places to choose from in the Lincoln Road- Mall area, this one is the tallest, and worth the visit.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near Geneva
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“An old favorite remains excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Have been having lunch at Van Dyke's for years and it's nice to note that the quality, service and value remain as good as ever. The outside terrace on Lincoln Road is a a great place to watch the world go by, the menu has extensive choices and the food remains very good. My friends tell me that the evening music sessions are also excellent and will try on the next visit.

Worth noting that Van Dyke is always busy while other restaurants in the area desperately try to hook passers by to eat at them. Only disappointment is that the nearby Girardelli ice cream place has closed...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“It was a great surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

we did`t know this place and stop there for a late dinner. We loved the menu, with a variaty of food and drinks, and the great part was that on the second floor there was jazz playing, FOR FREE. We were in the street but you still can hear the music although the people walking by. Nice decoration and clean bathrooms. we will be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Dyke Cafe also viewed

 
Miami Beach, FL
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van Dyke Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.