We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So close..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Van Dyke Cafe

Van Dyke Cafe
846 Lincoln Rd, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)
(305) 534-3600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #257 of 831 restaurants in Miami Beach
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: City Center
,woodbridge,new jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“So close..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We just don't visit a Cafe and expect a Mediterranean style meal, there are plenty of restaurants nearby for that. Anyway this is a cafe and I will rate it as such. A great spot for coffee and desert. They also feature a live band which can also be heard via speakers for those who choose to sit al fresco. They also have a full bar...great ambiance

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    101
    143
    70
    23
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good service terrible food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

When the my side salad arrived I knew the food was going to be questionable at best. Copious amounts of bad Caesar dressing made the lettuce soggy and limp. The seared tuna entree ($24) arrived and was obviously not a high grade of fish, very tough and taste was not good (being polite). After two bites I pushed the plate away, as did two others at the table.

On the positive side the outside seating is nice and our server was very attentive. I actually felt bad for her because she knew the tuna was not well received by my party. There is live music but upstairs but we didn't linger. We actually went to find decent food elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Varies.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Sometimes the food is better than others. We've had bad service before on more than one occasion. The live music upstairs really makes this a place worth patronizing.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Go for the Mango Cosmo and the Eggs Benedict with wilted spinach! Great service! Great location to people watch and enjoy a beautiful Sunday morning.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Perfect people watching perch....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

If you are in the vicinity of South Beach on Lincoln Road try lunch or dinner at Van Dyke Cafe.
This restaurant seats inside and out and is the perfect spot for people watching.
The building itself is old and quaint with ivy growing up the facade.
We enjoyed lunch there on a Sunday afternoon while an outdoor flea market was happening along the street.
Our meal portions were more than adequate and the staff was very accommodating.
One of many pubs, cafe and fine dining along Lincoln Road. Approximate to shopping and parking facilities.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Dyke Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Van Dyke Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van Dyke Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.