We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service terrible food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Van Dyke Cafe - CLOSED

Van Dyke Cafe
846 Lincoln Rd, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)
(305) 534-3600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: City Center
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good service terrible food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

When the my side salad arrived I knew the food was going to be questionable at best. Copious amounts of bad Caesar dressing made the lettuce soggy and limp. The seared tuna entree ($24) arrived and was obviously not a high grade of fish, very tough and taste was not good (being polite). After two bites I pushed the plate away, as did two others at the table.

On the positive side the outside seating is nice and our server was very attentive. I actually felt bad for her because she knew the tuna was not well received by my party. There is live music but upstairs but we didn't linger. We actually went to find decent food elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    143
    70
    23
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Varies.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Sometimes the food is better than others. We've had bad service before on more than one occasion. The live music upstairs really makes this a place worth patronizing.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Go for the Mango Cosmo and the Eggs Benedict with wilted spinach! Great service! Great location to people watch and enjoy a beautiful Sunday morning.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Perfect people watching perch....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

If you are in the vicinity of South Beach on Lincoln Road try lunch or dinner at Van Dyke Cafe.
This restaurant seats inside and out and is the perfect spot for people watching.
The building itself is old and quaint with ivy growing up the facade.
We enjoyed lunch there on a Sunday afternoon while an outdoor flea market was happening along the street.
Our meal portions were more than adequate and the staff was very accommodating.
One of many pubs, cafe and fine dining along Lincoln Road. Approximate to shopping and parking facilities.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Afternoon delight!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

After dining for lunch earlier we stopped and tried dessert. The ice cream was superb but the apple crisp was nothing but tart green hard apples. My wife's peach cobbler was superb. Must stop back for the live Jazz someday.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Dyke Cafe also viewed

 
Miami Beach, FL
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van Dyke Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.