We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Varies.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Van Dyke Cafe - CLOSED

Van Dyke Cafe
846 Lincoln Rd, Miami Beach, FL 33139
(305) 534-3600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Morgantown
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Varies.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Sometimes the food is better than others. We've had bad service before on more than one occasion. The live music upstairs really makes this a place worth patronizing.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    144
    70
    23
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Go for the Mango Cosmo and the Eggs Benedict with wilted spinach! Great service! Great location to people watch and enjoy a beautiful Sunday morning.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Perfect people watching perch....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

If you are in the vicinity of South Beach on Lincoln Road try lunch or dinner at Van Dyke Cafe.
This restaurant seats inside and out and is the perfect spot for people watching.
The building itself is old and quaint with ivy growing up the facade.
We enjoyed lunch there on a Sunday afternoon while an outdoor flea market was happening along the street.
Our meal portions were more than adequate and the staff was very accommodating.
One of many pubs, cafe and fine dining along Lincoln Road. Approximate to shopping and parking facilities.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Afternoon delight!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

After dining for lunch earlier we stopped and tried dessert. The ice cream was superb but the apple crisp was nothing but tart green hard apples. My wife's peach cobbler was superb. Must stop back for the live Jazz someday.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“SO FUN!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Low key, but lively! Laid back vibe with great, live music. After dinner and walking around South Beach we happened upon Upstairs at The Van Dyke. We're not old, but we're too old for the nightclub scene and too young to sit and listen to jazz. This was just right! Caesar's Groove was playing and they were amazing. Great place, slightly less touristy than the Mango's scene.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Dyke Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van Dyke Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.