We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon delight!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Van Dyke Cafe - CLOSED

Van Dyke Cafe
846 Lincoln Rd, Miami Beach, FL 33139
(305) 534-3600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Afternoon delight!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

After dining for lunch earlier we stopped and tried dessert. The ice cream was superb but the apple crisp was nothing but tart green hard apples. My wife's peach cobbler was superb. Must stop back for the live Jazz someday.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    144
    70
    23
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“SO FUN!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Low key, but lively! Laid back vibe with great, live music. After dinner and walking around South Beach we happened upon Upstairs at The Van Dyke. We're not old, but we're too old for the nightclub scene and too young to sit and listen to jazz. This was just right! Caesar's Groove was playing and they were amazing. Great place, slightly less touristy than the Mango's scene.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere but lacks in the food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Van Dykes Cafe is a nice place in a beautiful area of South Beach. The music is nice and the outside seating is very South Beach. The servers are prompt and do not bother you. The food lacks proper flavor and is very basic. This goes for the drinks as well; they are just thrown together. Nice place but lacks in the food and drink department.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
“Great Breakfast at Van Dyke Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We enjoyed great food and had fun watching the lively scene on Lincoln Road in South Beach. The Egg Benedict and the Veggie Omelet were very good and our waitress was lovely.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great breakfast on Lincoln Mall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had a good breakfast with excellent service and the bonus of people watching South Beach residents out walking and usually accompanied by their dogs.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Dyke Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van Dyke Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.