We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, nice location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Van Dyke Cafe - CLOSED

Van Dyke Cafe
846 Lincoln Rd, Miami Beach, FL 33139
(305) 534-3600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
UK
Level Contributor
282 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Great food, nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Lots of choice in lincoln street to eat and lots of people eager for your business, so to make the right choice was tricky.

Glad we went to van dykes, great range of food for all the family and pleasant outdoor eating area. Food was good quality, good portions and well priced.

We ate there on a few occasions and was pleased with the experience, the service was friendly and good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    144
    70
    23
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place to relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had lunch here and it was very good. Friendly employees, good food, fast service. This place has a big terrace so you can relax, sit down and watch everybody walk by.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
340 reviews
265 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Save yourself the regret, don't go here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Went here on a Thursday night for dinner at around 9:30. Got seated immediately outside which has a nice atmosphere but that's where the good stopped. Ordered mojitos to start and they were awful. Tasted like they came from a mix bottle and for $10 you'd expect more. We got a hummus place to start which was okay but nothing great and only came with 2 pieces of pita. For entree we ordered tilapia salad, steak salad and a burger. The burger was okay but tasted like it was bought at Costco and heated up. The salads were terrible and not edible. My friends were too nice to send them back so instead they didn't touch them and when the waiter came to take the food away definitely noticed but didn't say a word. So yea, the service was bad too. On also, after the mojitos were so bad we ordered draft beers that tasted skunked. Hope you don't go here now, this is all factual and I'm trying to save you the regret because for $125 you don't get anything!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Been looking for a good breakfast place all week and finally found it. Nice selection. Had the yogurt with granola (order the side of berries). Kids loved the crepes. Great coffee.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aventura
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Coming here forever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

this restaurant is my home on Lincoln Road. I particularly remember one night right after 9-11 being the only customer(s) in the place and Lincoln Road being so untypically desolate. Sad but home. Sometimes the service is not the greatest but the atmosphere kind of makes up for it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Dyke Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van Dyke Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.