We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great until the check came,,,they don't carry change?.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Van Dyke Cafe

Van Dyke Cafe
846 Lincoln Rd, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)
(305) 534-3600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #257 of 833 restaurants in Miami Beach
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: City Center
MIAMI
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great until the check came,,,they don't carry change?.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is a great spot for breakfast; snacks, salads; lunch and people-watching. The service is very good too! And for South Beach; it is reasonable (breakast: juice/coffee/bacon or ham/sausage/toast/eggs about $10). Like most of the restaurants on the beach, a tip is included (15%) and the check indicates that.
I was taken aback; when I paid my check (including tiip) and the total was something like $11.57
The change on $15 that was returned to me was $3. New math? ....No, I was told they "don't carry change".
Is management aware of this?

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    101
    143
    70
    23
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good breakfast, good sandwiches and salads, a variety of foods”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Great place to meet on a Sunday morning; gppd tp gp with friends and your pets too (doggie friendly). Has jazz at night in the upstairs lounge, good beers and wines, definitely a pl;ace you cannot miss on South Beach and a place to meet a friend for a drink or a coffee and sit outside.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“The Best Cafe on Lincoln Road”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

If you're looking for a place to grab breakfast or brunch you've found it. Great place to people watch, and features indoor and outdoor seating. They also have live music upstairs at night from time to time. The salads are also amazing!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, USA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“It's reasonably priced. Food okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Wanted to eat on Lincoln Rd but not pay too much. We had the bruschetta which was ok I've had better didn't have much flavor. For entree had the vodka al salmon but not much salmon but a lot of sauce I thought it was a little greasy but my husband liked his. Chicken sandwich my daughter didn't complain. You can have an entree for under $15. Service was adequate. We got our food quick and our check quick. There are better restaurants in the same street but watch for the ones with dinner or drink special it's a trap for the expensive menu.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culebra, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great Place and Atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We celebrated my partner's 30th birthday at Van Dyke Cafe and we were not disappointed. They offered us a dinner plan for our party (which consisted of about 15 people) or, we could do our orders from the regular menu. The staff was nice and the food was very good. Once they stop serving food, the place becomes a great hangout bar...more like at 12am I believe. You must visit this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Dyke Cafe also viewed

 
Miami Beach, FL

Been to Van Dyke Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van Dyke Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.