We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every dish came warm” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tongue & Cheek

Tongue & Cheek
431 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL
3057042900
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tongue & Cheek is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #276 of 909 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Washington Avenue & 5th Street
Description: Equal parts killer neighborhood restaurant and cool, casual watering hole, Tongue & Cheek serves approachable, ingredient-driven, American fare with just the right amount of whimsy. Serving daily happy hour, dinner, and Saturday & Sunday brunch.
buenos aires
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“Every dish came warm”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We went on a slow Monday night, there were at the most 6 tables, we easily parked on the street. Our waitress was very nice and we chose the Miami spice menu. I was surprised with the small size of the dishes and that every dish that were supossed to be hot came warm , the duck, the snapper and the mac & cheese. After reading so great reviews about this restaurant I went home disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    35
    24
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Nice Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner here with my husband and selected from the Miami Spice menu. The appetizers right down to the dessert were delicious and uniquely prepared. The banana cream pie was particularly memorable for its "deconstructed" preparation. The white sangria was fruity and refreshing. The service was very pleasant and attentive. The only glitch in the evening was that I made the reservations through Open Table on the Miami Spice website and the restaurant had no record of it. It was fine given that they had space to accommodate us, but had they not I would have been very disappointed.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and Drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I had dinner at the bar few weeks ago and was really impress by the food and Drinks, great location since my hotel was a block away (Lord Balfour). Read about this restaurant in a magazine (Top new restaurant in Miami). Cant wait to go back!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best of Miami Spice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Unexpected flavor combinations (English pea soup with marshmallows for instance) make for superb dining.  Friendly yet professional host and wait staff.  Loved it so much I went twice during Miami spice.  Everything was delectable...my favorite vpbeing the macaroon covered, banana cream pie.  Nothing more to say....just go!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing ! Outstanding !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Everything was so perfect ! The place is beautiful, the playlist was very cool (pop music), and all our plates were very tasty and good looking ! Even Catherine S, our waitress, who was tired since she was working from 9am (we booked at 10pm) was so nice and helpful. And definetely the best burger i ate (my friend took the lettuce pig ears wrap and the lambs belly, and was very happy). This place deserves to be known ! (And the bill at the end worth it ! Not so expensive for the quality of the meal ! 2 appetizers, 2 mains courses + extra sides, 1 desert, 1 bottle of wine, and 2 coffees for 140$. Good deal ! I recommend !)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tongue & Cheek also viewed

 
Miami Beach, FL
Miami Beach, FL
 

Been to Tongue & Cheek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tongue & Cheek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.