We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1817 James Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Lancaster
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Ideal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very friendly staff, a clean room, a nice pool and within easy walking distance of Ocean Drive and Lincoln Road. Our only quibble was $30 a night for parking but perhaps that just reflects parking prices in South Beach and they did wash the car for us

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    152
    53
    23
    13
See reviews for
101
98
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotelgood because of the staff working on it. All are extremely attentive. The facilities are also good but needs minor changes such as noise, but the rooms are large and welcoming. The breakfast is American standard. We could have better options for dinner and a more extended time there since 20:30 closes the service. The beach service is paid $ 20.00 per two chairs.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randallstown
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel for my birthday July 4 - July 6, 2014. The staff were friendly, the rooms were beautiful and also clean. We loved the location because it was close to the beach and shopping. It was just an awesome experience and the hotel layout is simply beautiful.... from the modern decor of the sitting areas in the front and back of the hotel, the main lobby, the bar and pool it was just simply lovely. I am so glad that we took a chance and made this our hotel choice of stay. I would like to thank everyone from the front desk to the cleaning staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After a two week stay at the Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, we could not have asked for anymore with regards to staff service and hotel qualities. Very modern hotel with a fantastic atmosphere and buzz about the place. A special thank you goes out to Endri, Steven, Moises and Andre for there superb hospitality and there extra efforts to make our holiday as great as it was. The only addition I would suggest would be for the hotel to install a fitness suite. Thanks again for a great vacation!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I loved my stay at the Pestana South Beach. The hotel is in a great location close to all of the shops and restaurants downtown as well as the beach. The staff were by far the friendliest and most helpful hotel staff I have ever encountered. They always smiled and greeted us and gave us good advice one places to eat, see and things to do. The pool was beautiful and the staff at the mermaid cafe were exceptionally kind and did everything to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. Endri K was especially helpful to make sure I got to watch my world cup match and that my friends and I had an amazing stay. I loved everything about the Pestana South Beach and would go back in a heart beat.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep in, make sure you do not have a room facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

From the moment we checked in (at midnight) to the moment we checked out our stay was great. Firstly we were upgraded to a one bedroom room with a separate lounge room. The room had two balconies (from the lounge and from the main bedroom) that over looked the pool. It was so nice to actually have some fresh air in a hotel room. The room was very modern, the bathroom had double sinks and was spotless (no mould in the shower in the either). Our room had a fridge which was very handy.

The pool was lovely and the temp was, imo, perfect.

The location was great, just a couple minutes from the hub of South Beach. A man on reception recommended we try the restaurant "Maxines" as it was open 24 hours (and we had arrived at midnight and were starving). The restaurant was excellent and well priced.

We stayed in a second hotel in South Beach (after a cruises) and this was far far superior (despite the other having more stars and being much more expensive - I'll review it also).

I would stay here without hesitation if I return to Miami.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Best point about hotel is the location, close to South Beach and shops
Down sides - when we first arrived, the room we were meant to be staying in hadn't been cleaned from the previous guests, second room we were going to be put in absolutely stank of cigarettes, the third time we got shown to another room which was a lot better but there were a few marks on the bed sheets and no shower curtain but after travelling for nearly 24 hours we gave up!
The walls must be quite thin as there was quite a lot of noise with other guests coming and going from rooms. We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights probably wouldn't want to stay there any longer!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel

Address: 1817 James Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.