We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel to your Saves list
Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1817 James Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Lancaster
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Ideal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Very friendly staff, a clean room, a nice pool and within easy walking distance of Ocean Drive and Lincoln Road. Our only quibble was $30 a night for parking but perhaps that just reflects parking prices in South Beach and they did wash the car for us

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    288
    85
    29
    24
See reviews for
196
200
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This hotelgood because of the staff working on it. All are extremely attentive. The facilities are also good but needs minor changes such as noise, but the rooms are large and welcoming. The breakfast is American standard. We could have better options for dinner and a more extended time there since 20:30 closes the service. The beach service is paid $ 20.00 per two chairs.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for my birthday July 4 - July 6, 2014. The staff were friendly, the rooms were beautiful and also clean. We loved the location because it was close to the beach and shopping. It was just an awesome experience and the hotel layout is simply beautiful.... from the modern decor of the sitting areas in the front and back of the hotel, the main lobby, the bar and pool it was just simply lovely. I am so glad that we took a chance and made this our hotel choice of stay. I would like to thank everyone from the front desk to the cleaning staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

After a two week stay at the Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, we could not have asked for anymore with regards to staff service and hotel qualities. Very modern hotel with a fantastic atmosphere and buzz about the place. A special thank you goes out to Endri, Steven, Moises and Andre for there superb hospitality and there extra efforts to make our holiday as great as it was. The only addition I would suggest would be for the hotel to install a fitness suite. Thanks again for a great vacation!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

From the moment we checked in (at midnight) to the moment we checked out our stay was great. Firstly we were upgraded to a one bedroom room with a separate lounge room. The room had two balconies (from the lounge and from the main bedroom) that over looked the pool. It was so nice to actually have some fresh air in a hotel room. The room was very modern, the bathroom had double sinks and was spotless (no mould in the shower in the either). Our room had a fridge which was very handy.

The pool was lovely and the temp was, imo, perfect.

The location was great, just a couple minutes from the hub of South Beach. A man on reception recommended we try the restaurant "Maxines" as it was open 24 hours (and we had arrived at midnight and were starving). The restaurant was excellent and well priced.

We stayed in a second hotel in South Beach (after a cruises) and this was far far superior (despite the other having more stars and being much more expensive - I'll review it also).

I would stay here without hesitation if I return to Miami.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Best point about hotel is the location, close to South Beach and shops
Down sides - when we first arrived, the room we were meant to be staying in hadn't been cleaned from the previous guests, second room we were going to be put in absolutely stank of cigarettes, the third time we got shown to another room which was a lot better but there were a few marks on the bed sheets and no shower curtain but after travelling for nearly 24 hours we gave up!
The walls must be quite thin as there was quite a lot of noise with other guests coming and going from rooms. We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights probably wouldn't want to stay there any longer!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcobaca, Portugal
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Friendly staff and great location in the heart of South Beach.
The swimming pool is great and the bar/restaurante area are perfect to chill out and relaxing. This is a boutique hotel with a buffet breakfast each morning from 7.30-10.30.
THis hotel is perfect to bring your femaly or in business is very near by of the South Beach Convention Center.

Room Tip: Be away of the swimming pool if you like to sleep late
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel

Address: 1817 James Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It has 97 rooms and suites, plus 2 luxurious 2-bedroom apartments. Its charming central courtyard with pool and the Mermaid Bar & Bistrot, are perfect to relax and enjoy what South Beach has to offer. Few hotels in Miami are so well integrated with the main business and leisure areas of Miami. Just a couple of minutes from the hotel you will find Ocean Drive (ocean promenade) and also the amazing South Beach, with calm and crystal clear waters. Nearby you can also visit the Miami Beach Convention Center, the Miami Beach Golf Club and Lincoln Road, a true open-air shopping center, with a huge variety of restaurants and shops. Miami is a cosmopolitan city, glamorous, full of life and entertainment, besides being the financial center of Latin America. Today South Beach is the cultural heart of Miami, where you will find the most famous beaches, the hottest nightlife and the best shops and restaurants, plus the Art Deco Historial District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.