We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1817 James Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Everything was great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

From the moment we checked in (at midnight) to the moment we checked out our stay was great. Firstly we were upgraded to a one bedroom room with a separate lounge room. The room had two balconies (from the lounge and from the main bedroom) that over looked the pool. It was so nice to actually have some fresh air in a hotel room. The room was very modern, the bathroom had double sinks and was spotless (no mould in the shower in the either). Our room had a fridge which was very handy.

The pool was lovely and the temp was, imo, perfect.

The location was great, just a couple minutes from the hub of South Beach. A man on reception recommended we try the restaurant "Maxines" as it was open 24 hours (and we had arrived at midnight and were starving). The restaurant was excellent and well priced.

We stayed in a second hotel in South Beach (after a cruises) and this was far far superior (despite the other having more stars and being much more expensive - I'll review it also).

I would stay here without hesitation if I return to Miami.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    163
    56
    23
    15
See reviews for
113
105
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Best point about hotel is the location, close to South Beach and shops
Down sides - when we first arrived, the room we were meant to be staying in hadn't been cleaned from the previous guests, second room we were going to be put in absolutely stank of cigarettes, the third time we got shown to another room which was a lot better but there were a few marks on the bed sheets and no shower curtain but after travelling for nearly 24 hours we gave up!
The walls must be quite thin as there was quite a lot of noise with other guests coming and going from rooms. We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights probably wouldn't want to stay there any longer!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcobaca, Portugal
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Friendly staff and great location in the heart of South Beach.
The swimming pool is great and the bar/restaurante area are perfect to chill out and relaxing. This is a boutique hotel with a buffet breakfast each morning from 7.30-10.30.
THis hotel is perfect to bring your femaly or in business is very near by of the South Beach Convention Center.

Room Tip: Be away of the swimming pool if you like to sleep late
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

First of all I'd like to thank all the staff who has been awesome : each one of them offered us their smile and help all day long, from the early morning until late night.
Special thanks to Endri and Andres, and "BRAVO" for the amazing cocktails taken at the bar of Pestana hotel !!!!

The location of the hotel :
Central I would say. We did not have a car, we walked as every spots were very close from our hotel :-)
About, 5 minutes from Collins Avenue , 10 minutes far from Lincoln road, 20 from Ocean Drive.

The rooms:
We asked for twin beds and we were very happy while discovering the room that the 2 beds were large (140 cm each bed) and very comfortable.
There is only 1 wardrobe with hangers, but also a chest of drawers, and a few shelves close the bathroom.
There is also a TV that we never switched on :-)
it is quite late night, but you can easily hear the noise form the corridor outside the room.
If you have educated neighbours then it will be always quiet ....

The swimming Pool is small but clean.

The bar is very nice and it is just in front of the swimming pool : nice view then
It is also the place where we had our breakfast.

The breakfast is a buffet and very healthy. You can have also non-healthy food : you have the choice as there are many goods to please everyone

Well Pestana South beach hotel is now my favourite place to stay when I go to Miami.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mwatson21
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

This was a great choice of hotel for myself and a friend. Rooms were a little small but clean & modern and not too expensive. Great pool, and with in walking distance to a lot of the action. They also had a great happy hour in a land of very over priced drinks and food. It was a great change of pace. I also must point out that the two bartenders Endri & Andre were awesome! They were so much fun to talk to, and made great drinks!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

The hotel is very close to main shopping streets and to the beach.
There is only elevator in the main building where the reception is located, so try to have your room their.
Their is also a small swimming pool.
Hotel parking cost approx. 30$ per day and 2 blocks far. There is another public parking a bit cheaper, closer and located on the same street.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

The combination of the top location, great taste of the spaces in a renewed art déco style, and amazing staff (out of the blue!) makes this boutique hotel ideal for a holiday. Felt home there and will come back really soon!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel

Address: 1817 James Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It has 97 rooms and suites, plus 2 luxurious 2-bedroom apartments. Its charming central courtyard with pool and the Mermaid Bar & Bistrot, are perfect to relax and enjoy what South Beach has to offer. Few hotels in Miami are so well integrated with the main business and leisure areas of Miami. Just a couple of minutes from the hotel you will find Ocean Drive (ocean promenade) and also the amazing South Beach, with calm and crystal clear waters. Nearby you can also visit the Miami Beach Convention Center, the Miami Beach Golf Club and Lincoln Road, a true open-air shopping center, with a huge variety of restaurants and shops. Miami is a cosmopolitan city, glamorous, full of life and entertainment, besides being the financial center of Latin America. Today South Beach is the cultural heart of Miami, where you will find the most famous beaches, the hottest nightlife and the best shops and restaurants, plus the Art Deco Historial District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.