We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1817 James Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
New York City, New York
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Service outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here this past weekend and I love the place specially the service everyone was very nice . Endri was our waiter and he was amazing . I will recommend and definitely I'll be back here . I'm from New York and I go to Miami every year . Almost forget the happy hour $4 a beer in south beach can't beat that

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    163
    56
    23
    15
See reviews for
113
105
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Picked this hotel mainly for its location - we didn't want to stay on Ocean Drive as we wanted a quieter part of Miami and this hotel didn't disappoint.

It was clean with very modern furnishings (it's not a hotel for people looking for cosy) and had a fab pool, which we spent a lot of time lounging by.

Breakfast wasn't included, not sure if it's offered. Parking is at a garage just a few minutes walk from the hotel and the fee was pretty reasonable for Miami.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Pestana and would recommend as a great hotel to stay in Miami.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

What else do you want from Miami? A short walk to the beach, shops, bars and restaurants. Good sized rooms, pool and decent buffet breakfast, friendly helpful staff. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

My girlfriends and I enjoyed our trip immensely - so much so that we came back just to hang with the staff at the bar after our trip back from the Bahamas.

Hotel/Rooms: Opened recently - less than a year while we were visiting. The rooms were clean and our room overlooked the pool - awesome!

Location: It was not in the heart of South Beach but I think I much preferred to be off the strip. It was quiet enough for me to sleep. It was a few blocks away from Lincoln Road - where I found my beloved Shake Shack!!! Lincoln Road is also filled with amazing shopping. Beach was also only a few blocks away!

Staff: I don't even know where to start! My girlfriend and I are all in agreement that the staff here made our trip. The staff was super helpful and fun, it was exactly what we were looking for (not that we expected it). Thank you to the wonderful staff at Pestana - they were so great I remembered most of their names!!!! Each and every single one of them were/are wonderful!!

Andres - Our evening bartender.
Moe - Morning bartender
Endri - Morning bartender
Zoe - Morning bartender
Ivan - Morning front desk staff
Eric - Evening auditor
Orbin - Evening bell hop

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I loved the art deco feel of the hotel. We were only minutes away from many of the highlights in Miami. The hotel beds were extremely comfortable, and the rooms were bright and airy.
Especially loved the bar staff / poolside. Two of their best were Erika and Endri. Thank you for making our girls' vacation as fun as possible.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philly
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We have stayed in many south beach hotels, including SOS, surfcomber, and the national and have found Pestana to be a perfect fit for us. It features many of the luxuries of these other hotels at a fraction of the price. Truly comfortable bed, great shower & bathroom & relaxing poolside atmosphere. Only 1 block from the beach. The best customer service that I have seen in south beach without the snooty / prissy attitude! The staff bends over backwards to get you anything that you need to make your stay more comfortable. I found this hotel to be very clean.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

OMG! I just see the nastiest thing ever in my life I was walking to my room from the pool and went the wrong way and I just so happen see one of the hotel employees hanging up used pool towels on the gate. O I would never come back to this hotel AGAIN......

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear “mzmeka”,
Unfortunately we are not able to contact you as your review does not provide us with any identification information.
We really care about our guest’s feedback. Sometimes we may not agree with some of the comments as they represent a personal view or evaluation but that is not the point as they represent the perception that a specific guest has about the services we have provided and this is why Tripadvisor is so important for us.
Everyone at Pestana Hotels & Resorts are focus in providing to all of our guest the best experience, truly Memorable Moments, but we are not exempts of failures.
Unfortunately for a couple of times, due to a delivery delay from our Laundry, we didn’t have at a certain point, pool towels to provide to our guest and as some of these guests can surely attest we informed them that unfortunately we didn’t have towels to provide them at that moment.
On the other hand, one of our team members did in fact hang some pool towels, as they were not completely dry, but because they arrived from the laundry like that after being properly washed.
Again, we respect our guests personal opinions and point of view but we need to clarify what we feel is a precipitate judgments and misunderstandings.
Should you be available to discuss this situation with me, do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Regards,
João Paulo Araújo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel

Address: 1817 James Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It has 97 rooms and suites, plus 2 luxurious 2-bedroom apartments. Its charming central courtyard with pool and the Mermaid Bar & Bistrot, are perfect to relax and enjoy what South Beach has to offer. Few hotels in Miami are so well integrated with the main business and leisure areas of Miami. Just a couple of minutes from the hotel you will find Ocean Drive (ocean promenade) and also the amazing South Beach, with calm and crystal clear waters. Nearby you can also visit the Miami Beach Convention Center, the Miami Beach Golf Club and Lincoln Road, a true open-air shopping center, with a huge variety of restaurants and shops. Miami is a cosmopolitan city, glamorous, full of life and entertainment, besides being the financial center of Latin America. Today South Beach is the cultural heart of Miami, where you will find the most famous beaches, the hottest nightlife and the best shops and restaurants, plus the Art Deco Historial District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and HotelsClick so you can book your Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.