We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel to your Saves list
Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1817 James Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Orlando, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed at the Pestana in South Beach for two nights in Jan. We went for a volleyball tournament with our kids. Great location. Easy walk to the convention center and the beach. The staff were amazing from the time we showed up to the time we left. We had a incident with out bathroom shower door and all the staff to include the GM were very responsive. They moved us to a new room and were very helpful. The hotel was clean, the location was great.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    246
    77
    28
    22
See reviews for
170
170
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights over New Year and really enjoyed it.

Great pool area - always clean and plenty of sun loungers, pool lovely and warm and bar / restaurant staff were great.

Only slight downside for me was location, just a touch too far from the centre of Ocean Drive for us - only a mile, but when walking back and forth 2 or 3 times a day it go to be a bit of a drag.

Superb value for money tho.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds Uk
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Only stayed one Friday night but from check in to departure I can't fault the hotel.
Lovely location, 3 blocks from Lincoln Road
Big spacious room with nice bathroom.
Comfortable bed
Lovely pool area and breakfast area
Staff superb
Would return and recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

extremely good location and polite, competent staff in this hotel. Given the central, although quite location, guests tend to be late and noise at night when they come back. prices are reasanable for the location. Small, cosy pool. breakdast good but coffee and cappuccino could be better.

Room Tip: on the pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Nice clean room, very expensive breakfast and drinks, however overall great quality. In room bed was amazingly comfortable. Slept great. Pillows and blankets clean and nice. Beautiful pool. Non smoking room. And SUPER AFFORDABLE FOR LAST MIN. I highly recommend it. ALL staff are super friendly and accommodate in any way possible. WIFI and computer and printer available with stay no added charge, it was great we printed our directions from MAPQUEST.COM. I loved it.

Room Tip: 3116 Was great, in back. No noise. Peaceful and beautiful right next to pool. And affordable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Staying at this hotel right now, sorry to say but have no really good to say about it. We have been here for a night. The room we came to wasn't cleaned. When we ask the reception about it they friendly Said that they would take care of it - but nothing happend... Today we had to ask again. When we came home at 6 pm. Today the room wasn't cleaned. So we are not pleased at all. The beds are under standard... Hope that the manager Will respond to this - because this is not good enough...

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Like all Miami hotels room rates vary with the season and what the current event-weekend is. The location is pretty good. It is just over a block from the beach and two blocks from Lincoln Road (food and shopping). The rooms are medium sized and clean. The bathrooms are not memorable but certainly nothing to complain about. We had little interaction with the hotel staff. I did inquire about getting a suit pressed but it was easier to do it myself in the end. If you are looking for the full service, chic and happening Miami scene you are looking at the wrong hotel. If you are looking for a well located, clean room as a base from which to experience Miami Beach this is a hotel worth considering.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel

Address: 1817 James Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It has 97 rooms and suites, plus 2 luxurious 2-bedroom apartments. Its charming central courtyard with pool and the Mermaid Bar & Bistrot, are perfect to relax and enjoy what South Beach has to offer. Few hotels in Miami are so well integrated with the main business and leisure areas of Miami. Just a couple of minutes from the hotel you will find Ocean Drive (ocean promenade) and also the amazing South Beach, with calm and crystal clear waters. Nearby you can also visit the Miami Beach Convention Center, the Miami Beach Golf Club and Lincoln Road, a true open-air shopping center, with a huge variety of restaurants and shops. Miami is a cosmopolitan city, glamorous, full of life and entertainment, besides being the financial center of Latin America. Today South Beach is the cultural heart of Miami, where you will find the most famous beaches, the hottest nightlife and the best shops and restaurants, plus the Art Deco Historial District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.