We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay - Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel to your Saves list
Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1817 James Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Leeds Uk
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“One night stay - Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Only stayed one Friday night but from check in to departure I can't fault the hotel.
Lovely location, 3 blocks from Lincoln Road
Big spacious room with nice bathroom.
Comfortable bed
Lovely pool area and breakfast area
Staff superb
Would return and recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    216
    66
    26
    20
See reviews for
145
146
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

extremely good location and polite, competent staff in this hotel. Given the central, although quite location, guests tend to be late and noise at night when they come back. prices are reasanable for the location. Small, cosy pool. breakdast good but coffee and cappuccino could be better.

Room Tip: on the pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Nice clean room, very expensive breakfast and drinks, however overall great quality. In room bed was amazingly comfortable. Slept great. Pillows and blankets clean and nice. Beautiful pool. Non smoking room. And SUPER AFFORDABLE FOR LAST MIN. I highly recommend it. ALL staff are super friendly and accommodate in any way possible. WIFI and computer and printer available with stay no added charge, it was great we printed our directions from MAPQUEST.COM. I loved it.

Room Tip: 3116 Was great, in back. No noise. Peaceful and beautiful right next to pool. And affordable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Staying at this hotel right now, sorry to say but have no really good to say about it. We have been here for a night. The room we came to wasn't cleaned. When we ask the reception about it they friendly Said that they would take care of it - but nothing happend... Today we had to ask again. When we came home at 6 pm. Today the room wasn't cleaned. So we are not pleased at all. The beds are under standard... Hope that the manager Will respond to this - because this is not good enough...

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Like all Miami hotels room rates vary with the season and what the current event-weekend is. The location is pretty good. It is just over a block from the beach and two blocks from Lincoln Road (food and shopping). The rooms are medium sized and clean. The bathrooms are not memorable but certainly nothing to complain about. We had little interaction with the hotel staff. I did inquire about getting a suit pressed but it was easier to do it myself in the end. If you are looking for the full service, chic and happening Miami scene you are looking at the wrong hotel. If you are looking for a well located, clean room as a base from which to experience Miami Beach this is a hotel worth considering.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Upon arrival outside and lobby area looks great staff was helpful however, although room was paid for was told there would be an additional $50 per night hold placed on ccard which tied up $150 of spending money, in addition when I inquired about parking was told that it would be $30 per night yeah right. Lucky for me I was able to find street parking for free as I arrived on a Friday. The room although designed nicely felt boxy, no tub in bathroom or lid for toilet leaving my personals falling in the toilet I did not lol. no toilet paper holder no closet space. I was not impressed. I would never stay there again. still awaiting release of my $150 on hold.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This hotel was a cute hotel located close to the beach and the conference center. It was clean and quaint. The staff was exceptional. They were super friendly and accommodating. The room was nice and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was clean and well stocked. The pool was heated so even though our weekend was rainy and windy I was able to enjoy the warm pool. Check in/out process was quick and easy.

Cons: Parking is not included in the price. The nearest parking garage costs $30 a day to park.
There is only one parking spot for guest that need to unload/load their car in front of the hotel. We came at a busy time and had to wait for a significant time to be able to park so we can check in and get our bags. There is not even a place to wait so we had to drive around the block several times before we could park.
While enjoying the warm pool that windy day my clothes, towel, hat, and sunglasses were blown off the chair onto the ground. The bellboy accidently ran over my sun glasses with his luggage cart. He picked them up and place them on the chair I got out of the pool and my glasses were bent beyond use. They were inexpensive glasses (around $40) so I was not outraged just frustrated. I called the front desk and they sent the bell boy and he said he would get me a new pair or comp me the price. He asked me how much and I said $40, he asked me where I got them and I said Naples. He left and I laid down for a nap. A while later I was awakened by a knock at the door. It was the bell boy with a big smile and my sunglasses. He said "all better" and handed me the glasses. Half asleep I took them and said thank you. I laid on the bed and put the glasses on my face.....they were really lopsided...I looked and noticed that they were the same glasses he unsuccessfully tried to bend back into place. This really made me mad. I would have been happy if he had even attempted to bring a replacement but he did not. So unfortunately I left the hotel with a sour taste.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building, we stayed in the back and there was no elevator to get to our room. We h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel

Address: 1817 James Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It has 97 rooms and suites, plus 2 luxurious 2-bedroom apartments. Its charming central courtyard with pool and the Mermaid Bar & Bistrot, are perfect to relax and enjoy what South Beach has to offer. Few hotels in Miami are so well integrated with the main business and leisure areas of Miami. Just a couple of minutes from the hotel you will find Ocean Drive (ocean promenade) and also the amazing South Beach, with calm and crystal clear waters. Nearby you can also visit the Miami Beach Convention Center, the Miami Beach Golf Club and Lincoln Road, a true open-air shopping center, with a huge variety of restaurants and shops. Miami is a cosmopolitan city, glamorous, full of life and entertainment, besides being the financial center of Latin America. Today South Beach is the cultural heart of Miami, where you will find the most famous beaches, the hottest nightlife and the best shops and restaurants, plus the Art Deco Historial District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.