We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel to your Saves list
Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1817 James Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #54 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is not the fanciest hotel but it's still pretty cute. I loved the decor of the room I stated in. It's a great location. The beach is 3-4 minutes away(walking). In addition to that, the staff members are very friendly. The only major issue is the elevator- it's sooooo slow.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review.
We were glad to understand your satisfaction regarding the room’s décor, location and mostly, the team attitude!
We look forward for your next visit.
Regards,
João Paulo Araújo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    325
    92
    30
    26
See reviews for
237
248
18
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel is located in south beach miami.
The staff is very nice, they made us a upgrade on our room, Paolo the bellman is very funny and helpfull, anything you need just ask him.
You have Collins avenue just at 2 min walk.
The hotel is real art deco.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post this review on Tripadvisor.
When possible we do upgrade our guests in order to provide them the best possible experience at our property, we are glad to hear this was the case!
Thank you for your kind words to Paolo, we will surely share them with him.
Hope to have the chance to have as our guest in the near future.
Regards,
João Paulo Araújo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierce, FL
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

A friend and I were searching the internet for a wonderful deco hotel on south beach - we certainly found one! We loved our large and luxurious deluxe king room, the lovely bathroom, and all the amenities - great pool and super comfortable pool seating - The best part was that every person we encountered was fabulous - no matter what role a staff member had, we were treated as esteemed guests - What a great way to spend a few days!!

Room Tip: The deluxe king was just a few dollars more than the regular room and was very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing with other travelers such a fantastic review regarding your recent stay at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel.
We were delighted to hear you had the chance to experience Memorable Moments in our company!
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our facilities and team, we hope to welcome you again very soon.
Regards,
João Paulo Araújo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pole
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We booked the Pestana South Beach based mostly on price and location.

We stayed in April 2013 and found a great rate complete with complimentary breakfast. The location is a few blocks from the beach but is far enough away from Collins/Ocean Drive that it is very quiet at night. The Lincoln Road mall is 2 blocks away, so the hotel is near many places to eat. There is also a great Italian restaurant, Sylvano's, about a block North of the hotel. If you get tired of walking around, there are a couple of bike rental locations near the hotel as well.

The hotel itself is very nice. It is comprised of 4 buildings which surround a courtyard complete with infinity pool and comfy lounge chairs. 3 of the buildings house the hotel rooms and the 4th building houses the pool cafe, which also doubles as the place where breakfast is served in the morning. The hotel room itself was equipped with all the standard items like mini-fridge, safe, etc. However the room was a little on the small side for being a double (it's a remodeled art deco building, so this was expected).

Our rate included breakfast, which was very good. It was more European style in that it included a lot of cold cuts and assorted cheeses, however it did have other regular breakfast items like bagels, cereal, fresh fruit and fruit juices. It was great to eat breakfast beside the pool in the morning.

The only downside I could think of was that house keeping was a little bit hit or miss with replacing towels etc. But it wasn't really a big deal to flag somebody down in the morning to get a couple of extra ones.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your recent experience at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel.
We would like to thank you for sharing with other travelers a detailed description regarding our location, available services and amenities provided!
Hope to have the chance to welcome you again at Pestana Hotels & Resorts.
Regards,
João Paulo Araújo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

close walk to beach and to Lincoln road. Very nice and upscale for south beach. Not Ritz but comparable to Mariott Hyatt etc - this is a boutique. Generally very very pleased with the hotel. only small complaint is that parking is in a garage about 2 blocks away - no valet is provided. This is a bit of hassle but no big deal given everything is walkable from the hotel and the hotel is very nice. I got a great rate of 145 total off hotwire. Much more and I woulda been disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel.
We are very glad to hear you had a very pleasant stay with us and we hope to have the chance to welcome you again very soon!
Regards,
João Paulo Araújo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milan, italy
Level Contributor
114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Well located, close to the beach and to many rest/bars, the hotel has a discreet art deco architecture renovated and well preserved. Rooms and service are average/good, medium size pool with a pleasant bar/rest for a snach or a drink. The only problem is that this hotel is part of a portuguese chain and full of portuguese and brazilian people: in principle no problem with the, of course (I love both countries for example) but they tend to consider this place their private home, shouting out and screaming all the time, in pool, corridors etc without any control by the staff. If u meet a family w/ children in the pool could be very noisy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion after your recent stay at Pestana South Brach Art Deco Hotel.
We were glad to hear you enjoyed our location, rooms and hotel facilities.
As a proud Portuguese that I am, I truly believe that shouting and screaming is not what better defines the Portuguese and Brazilian people or any other nationality so I rather prefer to believe that in your personal point of view you felt “unlucky” with some of the other guests sharing the hotel facilities with you.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you again at our property.
Regards,
João Paulo Araújo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I stayed at Pestanas for a week while attending an event at Miami Beach Convention Center (2 blocks away from the hotel). The rooms are incredibly big as is the pool, wich stays open 24 hours q day. The staff is frindely and polite. Since it is a Portuguese hotel chain at Miami English, Spanish and Portuguese are easily spoken by everyone at the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your recent experience at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel.
We are very glad to hear you have enjoyed our rooms and hotel facilities.
Thank you for your very kind words concerning our team.
We look forward for your next visit!
Regards,
João Paulo Araújo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Albion South Beach
Albion South Beach
#96 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,096 reviews
Circa 39 Hotel
#46 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
City Center
The Redbury South Beach
The Redbury South Beach
#8 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cadet Hotel
#41 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 764 reviews
City Center
Gale South Beach
Gale South Beach
#35 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel

Address: 1817 James Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It has 97 rooms and suites, plus 2 luxurious 2-bedroom apartments. Its charming central courtyard with pool and the Mermaid Bar & Bistrot, are perfect to relax and enjoy what South Beach has to offer. Few hotels in Miami are so well integrated with the main business and leisure areas of Miami. Just a couple of minutes from the hotel you will find Ocean Drive (ocean promenade) and also the amazing South Beach, with calm and crystal clear waters. Nearby you can also visit the Miami Beach Convention Center, the Miami Beach Golf Club and Lincoln Road, a true open-air shopping center, with a huge variety of restaurants and shops. Miami is a cosmopolitan city, glamorous, full of life and entertainment, besides being the financial center of Latin America. Today South Beach is the cultural heart of Miami, where you will find the most famous beaches, the hottest nightlife and the best shops and restaurants, plus the Art Deco Historial District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.