We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“watch out theres a thief about” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1817 James Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“watch out theres a thief about”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My wife. my daughter and I chose the very impressive Pestana over all the others - this was to celebrate our 25 year wedding anniversary. On the 26th June both of our room cards required a reset. That evening an Ipad and $500 in cash was stolen from our room. The manager stated that my key was used (whilst we were miles away) suggesting a key cloning scam.
The theft really spoiled our holiday so best beware - note that they have safes in the rooms but they are not fixed to anything.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    114
    41
    20
    12
See reviews for
65
71
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

After having read a lot of reviews I found this hotel. Very friendly staff, lobby light and airy. The room was great. Everything was modern, brand new and functional. Some loud guests at night but that is the price you pay if you elect to live in a party district. Hotel is on a side street just two blocks from the ocean. Hotel was previously an apartment complex and the hotel was finished Feb of 2013.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your recent experience at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel.
We were delighted to read your satisfaction concerning our team attitude, hotel amenities and location and the most important thing that you were able to enjoy your time with us, thank you!
Hope to have the change to welcome you in the near future.
Regards,
João Paulo Araújo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I spent 4 days in Pestana with my 4 friends and we really enjoyed our stay.
hotel is situated very close to all entertaining clubs, pubs and restaurants ( close to Collins and ocean Drive/ however you can not hear nosiy city at all. It's also very well located from logistic point of view if you want to go to the beach , to the city or to the mall/ super convenient bus transportation/
breakfasts are really cool, in comparison to many other hotels and all is prepared very stylish, and taste well/ fruit salads are really amazing.
customer service is changing, one day a barman who gave me lot's of drinks had been fired on the next day:-) so the rotation of personel is a bit quirky.
housekeeping sometimes cleans only one bed/ out of two/ but all in all, it's really nice hotel with a very chilling out atmosphere without any noisy surrounding.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing with other travelers your recent experience at Pestana South Beach Hotel.
We appreciate your detailed description concerning our location. As you refer, Pestana South Beach is centrally located but at the same time in a very quiet area, allowing our guests to walk to all Miami main attractions and at the same time to relax and enjoy a “Chill out” environment!
We are sorry to hear we were not able to provide you with the Housekeeping services you were expecting and I would like to guarantee you our daily effort in order to improve our customer service and overall experience.
Hope to welcome you again at our property very soon.
Regards,
João Paulo Araújo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

the 2nd day we were there, Housekeeping cleaned our room, but took all the towels and didn't bring any back. We told the desk that evening, but nothing happened. Took almost 24 hours for us to get towels. Nobody apologized. Lots of smiles from staff, but no apology. Then our room cards didn't work. We had to get them reprogramed.
And no coffee for the in room coffee maker all four days.
A nice hotel, centrally located. nice pool.
But the staff seems clueless.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post this review on Tripadvisor.
We were sorry to understand that your experience at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel did not meet your expectations, please accept my sincere apologies.
Your comments have been shared with our team in order to avoid similar future situations.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you again in the near future.
Regards,
João Paulo Araújo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The artsy decor along with the clean and great location of the Pestana hotel on South beach makes it a wonderful place to stay. It is located right in the center of all the entertainment venues which made cost of traveling by taxi very inexpensive. The beach is a block over and there is a great 24 hour restaurant around the corner. The staff at Pestana were amazing. They made sure that we were well taken care of. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing with other travelers such a fantastic review regarding your recent stay at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel!
We are happy to hear that our staff made you feel welcome and we were pleased that you were taken care of!
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Regards,
João Paulo Araújo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

my experience at the hotel was very good and bad. I really liked the attention at the reception, I really liked the large room, cleaning was not very good and one of the things that was very bad for me was the part of Mr Paolo offered me an apartment wider more modern and better located in my next stay in Miami because I told him that always come to miami.very unprofessional employee selling his business at the place he works ?? very unprofessional.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your recent experience at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel.
We were very sorry to hear your disappointment regarding our cleaning service and the attitude of some of our team members, please accept my apologies.
I can assure you that we have taken actions to avoid similar situations to occur in the future.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you again at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel.
Regards,
João Paulo Araújo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed in the hotel (that opened up on february 2013) for two days. The rooms were very clean and the beds amazing comfortable. The pool in the middle of the complex is beautiful. Price is ok for what you get and the good location.

There were two problems though, the desk service was very friendly but mixed up our reservations a few times and this seemed really weird. On the other hand there were people hanging in the pool area almost all night laughing and listening to music and no staff did check or care about that.

I would highly recommend this hotel though.

Room Tip: King size bed was amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your last stay at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel.
I apologize for the “mixed up” with your reservation and for not being able to resolve promptly the night noise by the swimming pool.
I am pleased that you enjoyed the comfort of out beds and the hotel facilities.
We all hope to welcome you again very soon and have a “perfect” stay with us.
Regards,
João Paulo Araújo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel

Address: 1817 James Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, HotelsClick, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.