We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very unprofessional staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1817 James Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Tampa, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very unprofessional staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

my experience at the hotel was very good and bad. I really liked the attention at the reception, I really liked the large room, cleaning was not very good and one of the things that was very bad for me was the part of Mr Paolo offered me an apartment wider more modern and better located in my next stay in Miami because I told him that always come to miami.very unprofessional employee selling his business at the place he works ?? very unprofessional.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your recent experience at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel.
We were very sorry to hear your disappointment regarding our cleaning service and the attitude of some of our team members, please accept my apologies.
I can assure you that we have taken actions to avoid similar situations to occur in the future.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you again at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel.
Regards,
João Paulo Araújo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    144
    51
    23
    13
See reviews for
93
94
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed in the hotel (that opened up on february 2013) for two days. The rooms were very clean and the beds amazing comfortable. The pool in the middle of the complex is beautiful. Price is ok for what you get and the good location.

There were two problems though, the desk service was very friendly but mixed up our reservations a few times and this seemed really weird. On the other hand there were people hanging in the pool area almost all night laughing and listening to music and no staff did check or care about that.

I would highly recommend this hotel though.

Room Tip: King size bed was amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your last stay at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel.
I apologize for the “mixed up” with your reservation and for not being able to resolve promptly the night noise by the swimming pool.
I am pleased that you enjoyed the comfort of out beds and the hotel facilities.
We all hope to welcome you again very soon and have a “perfect” stay with us.
Regards,
João Paulo Araújo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Our stay here started with having to drag our suitcases up the hotel steps under the watchful gaze of the concierge and didn't get any better from there. We were given a room where the air con was broken ( the panel hanging off the wall was a good clue). They moved us to an inferior room and literally dumped the additional supplies as the room was meant for single occupancy. The hotel guests were much younger and I was woken by people in the pool at 4am. Didn't enjoy this hotel. To make matters worse they have taken an additional sum of money from my credit card after my return to the uk with no notice. Not happy!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I booked the two bedroom suite at the Pestana hotel, for a long weekend with my friends (June 14th). I loved the pool, and I loved the two bedroom suite...initially. It was very modern, appeared clean, had two levels, a private outside roof deck, and several balconies. After a long day and night of Miami fun, my friend pulled back her covers to discover her sheets were NOT clean. So, then of course we start to believe the entire place is not clean. If they can't bother to ensure sheets that are not only washed but APPEAR clean then what else is dirty just below the surface? When we called to complain, it was virtually impossible to get anyone at the front desk to answer the phone. It just rings and rings and rings. Then eventually a message comes on saying the ‘subscriber is not available’, as if you are calling a cell phone that is roaming. When I finally did talk to someone I was told, ‘the housekeeping staff is off duty, but we can bring up some sheets and you can use the mini bar since you were not happy with the condition of your bed.’ I found the response to be dismissive, as if some overpriced candy and bottled water make up for dirty sheets in a SUITE. Additionally, the pull out couch did not pull out and convert to a bed. We called and complained about that as well.

The staff was very friendly and accommodating when you could reach them. Which generally had to be done face to face as their phone system is obviously not equipped to run a hotel. There is also some bizzre wiring in the rooms, the light switches operate everything from the TV to other rooms in the suite. It’s hard to figure out which light controls which part of the electricity in the suite, and there are no informative signs near the switches to make guests aware of this glitch. Lastly, two of my friends were staying another day in Miami and attempted book a room at Pestana. The room they showed her was filled with used pool cushions! She said it smelled like mildew and the person showing her the room apologized that they even took her to look at…I will say they ended up letting her stay in the two bedroom suite an additional night for the same price of a regular room. This could be a wonderful hotel, if they just got their act together. It’s a little disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at Pestana for three days and loved it! They immediately made us feel very welcome, and it almost felt like a home away from home. The rooms were a little small, but we really liked the layout, having the sink and mirror outside the bathroom. The pool area was great and relaxing. James in the reseption was really great. So was the guy working (everyday from 3pm-11pm) in the pool area and the bar, he was very attentive, efficient and polite. The food at the hotel was excellent.

We missed a few minor details though. There was no door hanger that said "do not disturb", the coffee in the room could have been better, and a few other things, but not to big as we cannot remember them now.

Housekeeping on the other hand were a little disoriented. At one point they placed a crib in our room which was for someone else, one night our towels ended up hanging out all night, they were never recovered (this was housekeeping's responsibility), and they seemed like they were walking all over and doing nothing...

I can definitely recommend this hotel to anyone, for the price it is a bargain!

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor with pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights, room was clean and comfortable. Room service was OK - they would try and clean the room very early in the morning so we went a couple of days without it being cleaned (they did not return during the day).

Pool area was awesome and the service at the restaurant really impressive!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel.
We are sorry to hear that we fail to clean your room, as you refer, we try to do the cleaning as soon as possible and if we are not able to do it immediately we keep trying to do it until the closing hour of the housekeeping cleaning operation.
We appreciate your great comments on our swimming pool area and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed the Café & Mermaid Bistro service.
Hope to welcome you again.
Regards,
João Paulo Araújo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Room was very clean and quiet, bedding was high quality and comfortable. Breakfast was included in room price: fresh fruit ( pineapple, blackberries, blueberries , kiwi, melon, strawberries, and grapes), yogurts, breads and pastries, cereal, juices and slices of meat and cheeses. Excellent coffee. The restaurant is available for hotel guests throughout the day after breakfast. As delightful as breakfast was, the quality of the serving staff was even better -professional and friendly! Breakfast is served overlooking the gorgeous infinity pool, which is sited for the best morning and evening light without glare from the sun. Every employee we met was professional, hospitable, and helpful -the man at the door, the reception staff, the man who was cleaning the floors. I thought I left something in the room (which I later found in one of the children's suitcases), and the cleaning staff checked the bedding and called me back -very kind and willing to go the extra mile. I had the sense that the whole hotel operating culture was professional, orderly,and effective in creating a welcoming and unusually pleasant experience. The hotel itself is on a quiet street and also quite convenient to the beach and other attractions of Miami Beach. There is free wifi, computer, and fax in the lobby for hotel guests. The common area seating in the lobby and several outdoor seating areas are lovely. We visit Miami beach several times each year, and this experience has been clearly outstanding.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post such a fantastic review on Tripadvisor, your detailed description will surely help other travelers to know us better!
We were delighted to learn you had a very enjoyable time with us and would like to thank you for your very kind comments regarding our team.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Hotel in a near future.
Regards,
João Paulo Araújo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel

Address: 1817 James Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.