We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little boutique hotel! Needs minor improvements” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel to your Saves list
Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1817 James Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great little boutique hotel! Needs minor improvements”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

This little quaint hotel is located in the heart of South Beach, Miami--perfect location. No car needed! We were less than one mile from the beach and we were surrounded by tons of food and shopping. The room was very new and clean. We were impressed with how nice and modern this little boutique hotel was. Nice flat screen tv, cable included.

Our only bad thing is the housekeeping. Our rooms were never really cleaned. They never replaces towels and they never added more toilet paper. Sounds silly but it's actually very annoying and you'd expect more from
Such a nice place.
Other than that I'd stay here again and highly recommend it! Oh, they also have nowhere for you to put your soap and shampoo--kinda weird. I'd still stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing with us your experience at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel.
We are delighted with your comments regarding our location, rooms, décor and facilities!
I regret we were not able to provide you with the housekeeping services you were expecting for and I can assure you that since your visit major improvements have been made – We have just finished the installation of corner shelves in all showers.
Again, thank you for your comments and hope to welcome you again in the near future!
Regards,
João Paulo Araújo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    191
    62
    23
    18
See reviews for
125
125
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

1. Terrible service at front desk. Examples:
- asked for a wake-up call and didn't get it. Meant we overslept and were late to dinner.
- had to call five times to get an extra comforter

2. Poor room quality for the price. Examples:
- cold shower in the bathroom.
- some rooms do not have a separation between the shower and the rest of the bathroom, so the water goes everywhere
- "king bed" consisted of two twin beds pushed together
- noise in the hallway at night
- drinking glasses had lipstick stains on them

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review regarding our property.
We are very disappointed to read your comments regarding our Front desk service and all the deficiencies occurred during your stay.
Please rest assured that your feedback has been shared with our supervising team and appropriate action taken to ensure that such an experience is not repeated.
I cannot apologize enough for your experience and hope that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel.
Kindest Regards,
João Paulo Araújo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

When we booked this, we did not know that this was their 2nd night to be open. Yes they were having difficulties, but nothing that couldn't be overcome. The location is great for the Miami Boat Show. We pretty much walked every where. We did not request a handicap accessible room. We had the run of house & got a handicapped room. It does need more shelf space in bathroom, but the room was really big. Also really nice to have fridge in room too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Pestana recently. We had room 3101 which had a little fenced yard on the street with two loungers and club chair. We felt transported to a little Miami Beach townhome, and felt very at home. All the decor is new and fresh, though starting to show signs of wear in the cleanliness of the white tile floor and some of the furniture in the lobby. Management will have to get on top of this to keep things fresh.

Despite presence of many 20-somethings in the hotel this Saturday night, our room was quiet, and our bed comfortable. We loved the location close to both Lincoln road and the beach, but far enough away, out of ear shot. Front desk and bell staff very helpful. We didn't have any food or beverage, just a quick stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providenciales
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

we were very happy with our stay, the hotel is brand new, rooms was simple, clean and good in size. staff were friendly and helpful. the location is perfect, close to lincoln road, but without all the noise of ocean drive.

we were allocated a room close to reception, which was noisy, we could hear the young guests on the upper floor. but member of staff on duty (alvaro?) was very efficient in allocating us to a quieter room, which was perfect and we could hear nothing.

breakfast was good, not luxurious, but then the hotel is not a five star, so i wouldn't expect it to be. the cappuccinos were specially good!

ps - http://myseastoryblog.com/2013/05/06/pestana-miami/

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We found the hotel through reviews from Trip Adv and were happy with our stay. They are new and working out the kinks, but the people were kind and the service was fantastic. They tried hard to please. The room was clean and the beds very comfortable. The free breakfast was perfect. Offering everything from cereal and yogurt to ham, cheese and bagels.We knew that they were still working on their liquor license, so that was not an issue. The layout of the hotel is a bit choppy. If you want the best rooms-ask for Building ONE, pool view levels two or three. We were in building three which was a walk around the pool and up a small flight. If you are in need of ADA accomodations or do not want to carry your luggage, ask for building one which has an elevator and in the main part of the Hotel. They have help (bell captain)service for your luggage, too. The pool area is nice, also and very relaxing. The location is in the northern part of SoBe and nice and quiet at night, but still walking distance to all the key spots. I would definitely return and stay at the Pestana again. Again, I read the reviews in Trip Advisor, so I also knew that they had a separate garage for parking which cost $30 for the day. The garage is 2 short blocks away, but easy to get to. The trick is to leave your luggage at the hotel, then move the car to the garage. They are obviously busier than anticipated and need to get increase the staffing, but the peope that helped us were great! Forteh fantastic price, we felt we had a great value.

Room Tip: Rooms in building One have the elevator, All Pool view rooms should be better than the others. Our f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Room was dirty, service was terrible - took 2 hours to get one towel, Internet didn't work, took forever to check in and the front desk was rude. The Internet did not work. The food was decent. Air conditioning ok. No way to call the front desk from the room.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel

Address: 1817 James Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It has 97 rooms and suites, plus 2 luxurious 2-bedroom apartments. Its charming central courtyard with pool and the Mermaid Bar & Bistrot, are perfect to relax and enjoy what South Beach has to offer. Few hotels in Miami are so well integrated with the main business and leisure areas of Miami. Just a couple of minutes from the hotel you will find Ocean Drive (ocean promenade) and also the amazing South Beach, with calm and crystal clear waters. Nearby you can also visit the Miami Beach Convention Center, the Miami Beach Golf Club and Lincoln Road, a true open-air shopping center, with a huge variety of restaurants and shops. Miami is a cosmopolitan city, glamorous, full of life and entertainment, besides being the financial center of Latin America. Today South Beach is the cultural heart of Miami, where you will find the most famous beaches, the hottest nightlife and the best shops and restaurants, plus the Art Deco Historial District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.