We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible service.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel to your Saves list
Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1817 James Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Horrible service.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

First I will start with the good. Which isn't much. Daniel the doorman (luggage boy) was great! He made us feel very welcome. Everyone who worked at the cafe were great!

So that's it.

Here comes the bad... THE FRONT DESK: horrible, horrible horrible. The girl at the front desk, yeah her. Worst customer service I have ever experienced. If you have a question, she's clueless. How do you work there? She wouldn't greet, look, or even smile at us. Very rude and very nasty.

Calling room service and expecting help is a fail too.

Overall, it is a beautiful hotel. But more of a do it yourself hotel. I honestly wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    184
    59
    23
    17
See reviews for
121
117
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Good location, poor service, cheap quality of everything throughout the hotel. Service is horrible. Make sure you pack your own clothes iron and blow dryer. Because they dont offer you one, and they only have enough for a limited amount of rooms. Rooms are small which was okay. Plastic glass wear. Small safe, not big enough for a ladies purse. Rude staff. And all though they were recently remodeled the hallways and rooms look very beat up/ dirty because the lack of care of the employees, house keeping, and managers... overall... spend the extra money to stay somewhere else

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The hotel is brand new, with a clean modern decoration, room and bathroom with a nice size, very confortable beds and white floor tiles (perfect for a beach hotel). The free breakfast was good, with few but nice quality itens. The location is great, close to the beach, walking distance to everything, in a silent neighborhood. Wifi works well everywhere. The small buildings have 3 floors with no elevators - what can be a problem if you have heavy luggage and probably no help, considering the hotel lack of employees. I came back to my room at 7pm and it wasn't cleaned yet. I complained with the reception and at 8pm I asked a housekeeper who I met by chance in the corridor to clean my room. She changed the towels and said she would come back in 15 min, what didn't happen (and I just found out when I arrived late at night). Late checkout wasn't possible and I had to wait 40 minutes for someone to pick up my luggage in my room. I would recommend the hotel if they improve the service.

Room Tip: If you have heavy luggage, be aware ther are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed at this hotel 3 days after its opening. They have restored 3 or 4 buildings from the 40´s; pure art-deco style. Very nice! All rooms and common areas are decorated with wall photos from the 40´s/50´s.
My room was a standard room (Art Deco King Bed). Good size room and bathroom. Comfortable bed, iPod dock station, etc. Bathroom materials are not first quality, but are ok. Free wifi in all areas worked perfectly.
The street is residential and silent, but could here noise from the hall and lift.
Location is excellent for those who don´t mind missing an ocean view and want to stay away from busy Ocean Drive. Only 2 blocks from the beach and 4 blocks from Lincoln Road. Good restaurants in the neighborhood.
Breaksfast is included and well served. Swimming pool looked good (bigger than most boutique hotels), but didn´t use it.
No parking lot at site. They say there is payed vallet service, but actually you are the vallet, since you need to drive your car 2 blocks away to the garage building.

Pestana is a good Portuguese hotel chain and this is their first hotel in the US. I am sure they will do their best to provide good service. Staff speaks also Portuguese.

Rate was lower than equivalent options in the area.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is 4 classic buildings from the 1940s restored and updated. The Deco is the key - and there are good good things going on here. First, the hotel is 2 blocks from the beach. Next, it is on a quiet residential street, no noise, bars, or traffic to be found. Then it is a nice size, not too big - or tiny (about 100 rooms). Free breakfast, all new rooms with puffy beds, nice bathrooms, and great retro photos on the wall. The price is fair, and the staff very welcoming. Oh, and all the shops on Lincoln rd are a short walk away.

Room Tip: Free wifi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
europe
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This hotel opened only some weeks ago. Consequently, we had some issues during our stay, changes in reservations not taken into account despite front desk confirmation, housekeeping not up to standards (also due to some bad choices during renovations such as white tiles in the rooms almost impossible to clean with dirt spots), no alcoholic beverage (including beer) as licence has not yet been granted. All these are still minor faults which hopefully will be tackled after the "ramp-up" phase. On the plus, nice, large and well decorated and equipped rooms, perfect location close to the beach and lincoln road (there are also good restaurants at walking distance and you are away from the noisy and crowded ocean drive), nice staff and "boutique" atmosphere in the hotel, quite large pool area for a boutique (better than similar hotels in sobe). We did enjoy very competitive rates due to online discounts at the hotel website, hopefully rates will remain below those of ocean drive well known spots. As for noise, hotel is very well isolated as it is in a somewhat remote area, but room isolation still not perfect as corridor noises can be heard quite clearly. wifi was free and reliable. to sum-up, a good bargain and highly recommendable boutique hotel, which may accommodate family and couple needs, in a perfect location. Provided they keep the rates under control and improve house keeping, this boutique is also a serious alternative to some well known sobe hotels which may invoice you more for same level of service and comfort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I came here with my boyfriend for a peaceful weekend getaway, but we weren't looking to pay crazy fees during busy season. We had a great stay and our room was more than accommodating. On the first night itself, when asking for ice, the guy from the front desk brought some to us himself. The bathroom was nice and shower pressure / temperature was fine. We also totally loved the TV, iPod dock, & poolside. This is a brand new hotel, so they're still up and coming and need a few things like real valet service (vs. a valet service from a garage two blocks down) as well as a liquor license to really make use of the bar area near the pool. I didn't order anything from the food menu / try their breakfast but the options looked good. I'm sure in a few months this place will be poppin. They can easily amp up the decor a bit more and become chic and great. The location is ideal and very close to a lot of good dining / bars / the beach. Had a great stay and wouldn't mind coming back again!

Room Tip: We got the king room, and it was spacious, sunny, and great. The walls were a bit thin / the stairwe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel

Address: 1817 James Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It has 97 rooms and suites, plus 2 luxurious 2-bedroom apartments. Its charming central courtyard with pool and the Mermaid Bar & Bistrot, are perfect to relax and enjoy what South Beach has to offer. Few hotels in Miami are so well integrated with the main business and leisure areas of Miami. Just a couple of minutes from the hotel you will find Ocean Drive (ocean promenade) and also the amazing South Beach, with calm and crystal clear waters. Nearby you can also visit the Miami Beach Convention Center, the Miami Beach Golf Club and Lincoln Road, a true open-air shopping center, with a huge variety of restaurants and shops. Miami is a cosmopolitan city, glamorous, full of life and entertainment, besides being the financial center of Latin America. Today South Beach is the cultural heart of Miami, where you will find the most famous beaches, the hottest nightlife and the best shops and restaurants, plus the Art Deco Historial District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.