We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A foodies paradise.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barock - CLOSED

Barock
1412 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
786-691-1020
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $38
Cuisines: American, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Internationally acclaimed restaurateur Tommy Sjoo has opened his first venue in the U.S. in South Beach, Barock Miami. Barock's sister properties in Prague and Marbella have hosted Heads of State and countless celebrities. Barocks menu is unrivaled in all of Miami. Please join us at your earliest convenience.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A foodies paradise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

What a great place. Great inviting enviroment. Fantastic service. A menu that left me wanting to eat everything on the menu and great custom hand crafted cocktails.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarockMiami, Owner at Barock, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We want to take the time to thank you for allowing us to have you with us at Barock Miami. We are extremely proud of our staff here, and I'm sure you can appreciate the effort that goes into building a menu like ours and graciously serving wonderful folks such as yourself. We will share your comments with our team members. From all of us here, thank you again and please come join us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    9
    3
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Poor choice by us.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Food was ok. They disappointingly did not accept our restaurant.com certificate. Manager said he never heard of them and asked us to contact his lawyer. We did not put up a fight,and paid the bill.
I was surprised the manager did not offer to deduct appetizer and soft drink as a gesture.
We will not return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarockMiami, Owner at Barock, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Unfortunately you are one of our patrons who restaurant.com sold a steeply discounted certificate to. We apologize for any inconvenience and hope you will return to enjoy our food and service.
We were never enrolled in this program.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, RI
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Uncomfortable experience and disappointing meal.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

I'm writing this review a second time including more specific details. We stumbled upon this cute outdoor restaurant with high expectations... We stayed at The Betsy Hotel located at a couple blocks down on Ocean Drive and arrived late and tired on Friday night and chose Barock due to proximity to our hotel. The meal and experience went downhill after the delicious bread we purchased. We ordered a Caesar Salad which was fishy, pork tacos which were average, and another item which was equally disappointing. The young male waiter immediately went from a friendly drink pusher to indifferent, rude, and unfriendly as soon as we declined the cocktails due to a pregnant member of our party. It continued to be very uncomfortable which made the food even worse. We wanted to leave and return to our hotel as quickly as possible. I will not be dining here again and do not recommend it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarockMiami, Owner at Barock, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
We would like to truly apologize for your inconvenience on your recent visit. As you know I have inquired of you if it was our restaurant you were at, as we are only a few feet from your hotel. Our expectations of our food and service couldn't be higher and we will take your comments very seriously. We will pass them on to our staff and I can assure you this was not acceptable. We are sorry for your experience and we would encourage you to allow us to gain your trust if ever in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I happened upon this place looking for comfortable place to eat as I was alone in town on business. The girl out front was excellent in describing what the restaurant had to offer for food and beverage. I sat at the bar and service/conversation was great with the bartender. I had an appetizer and a few drinks and it was excellent. The owner was there and very nice to me as was all the staff. Being a female, alone in Miami can be intimidating but they made me feel very comfortable. Next time I am in town I will definitely come back again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarockMiami, Owner at Barock, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
We would like to thank you for the opportunity to host you on your recent business trip to Miami. We have passed your kind words on to Leila, our hostess and Nate, our bar manager as they are excellent examples of what we strive to accomplish here at Barock Miami. We will be honored to have you as our guest the next time you are in Miami and hope that you will always feel comfortable and at home with us. We value our guests and hope that each one will come back soon and often. Hopefully, the next time you visit, you will not need the umbrella, but if you do, I can assure you we will have an umbrella stand for your convenience. Thank you from all of us, and we hope to see you as your schedule allows.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A pleasant evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Me and my wife has just returned from a wonderful evening at the Barock.
We choosed Barock even though the restaurant was empty but we had the best service along with really good food.
The loobster was tasty!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BarockMiami, Owner at Barock, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for the lovely and kind words for all of us here at Barock Miami. As we continue to strive for the success enjoyed by our sister properties in Prague and Marbella, we try everyday to improve the overall experience of our guests, that we are so privileged to host. We know that you had multiple options available to you and we are grateful we had the opportunity to host you. We hope that if your travels include Miami again, we would be honored to have you back to see the additional things we have planned for Barock Miami. Once again, thank you from the entire staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Barock also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.