We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute scam” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Baguette

La Baguette
1052 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL
Improve this listing
Ranked #681 of 829 restaurants in Miami Beach
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Chalons-en-Champagne, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Absolute scam”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I strongly recommend avoiding this restaurant/bar. I had arrived from London that evening, jetlagged but up for having a couple of drinks on South Beach. My friend and I were enticed with buy 1, get one free cocktails plus a few free shots. Excited by this, we agreed and ordered food too. The cocktails looked and tasted amazing and were the biggest I have ever seen. However they were also the most expensive I've ever seen. The waitress asked us if we wanted 2 more cocktails following our first drinks. We declined as we had drunk too much alcohol. Then the bill came to $176. The cocktails were therefore $50 each along with food and gratuities. We were outraged. The scam is that you have to buy 2 drinks before getting 2 free but few people want the freebies as the alcohol content is extremely high in the first cocktail. The waitress agreed to give us 2 free cocktails the next night which we went for in order to bring our cost down. The next day the cocktails were watered down and not as nice. I even remarked to my friend that they probably didn't even put alcohol in them. So we left disappointed and feeling scammed. Avoid this place at all costs!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo G, Customer Service Director at La Baguette, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Sir/ Madame,
We apologize that you had an inconvenient when visiting La Baguette.
It is within our philosophy, business principles and corporate policies that each of our customers shall leave our restaurant completely satisfied with the overall experience at our restaurant and if you would like to please give us more information about your experience when visiting La Baguette, including a short description of why you were not satisfied, indicating the date of your visit and including a copy of the bill and /or credit the card receipt, we will review it and we are ready to give you a partial refund or your purchase depending on your case.
We want to thank you in advance for your time and consideration.
Looking forward to hearing from you.
Kind Regards,
Guillermo E. Gomez
Customer Service Director
La Baguette
1052 Ocean Drive Miami Beach, FL 33139 USA
e-mail: Guillermo@labaguettemiami.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

4% Recommend
    7
    7
    17
    14
    291
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“TOTAL RIP OFF! DO NOT GO”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Ocean drive- lovely location.
Many many restaurants to choose from- but I certainly do NOT recommend this place.
No prices stated on menu- which is their way of conning you into (unawaringly) buying the most expensive drinks you've probably ever bought in your life!
The price of a single vodka orange = the price of a nice bottle champagne in a normal regular bar.
A small drink request is not an option.
No information provided by waitresses- all part of the conning act.

DO NOT GO INTO THIS PLACE UNLESS YOU HAVE A GOOD $300 for lunch!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo G, Customer Service Director at La Baguette, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Sir/ Madame,
We apologize that you had an inconvenient when visiting La Baguette.
It is within our philosophy, business principles and corporate policies that each of our customers shall leave our restaurant completely satisfied with the overall experience at our restaurant and if you would like to please give us more information about your experience when visiting La Baguette, including a short description of why you were not satisfied, indicating the date of your visit and including a copy of the bill and /or credit the card receipt, we will review it and we are ready to give you a partial refund or your purchase depending on your case.
We want to thank you in advance for your time and consideration.
Looking forward to hearing from you.
Kind Regards,
Guillermo E. Gomez
Customer Service Director
La Baguette
1052 Ocean Drive Miami Beach, FL 33139 USA
e-mail: Guillermo@labaguettemiami.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“THIEVES!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

If you happen to pass this place on ocean drive down in south beach i strongly recommend the you keep walking!!! These guys just ripped me and my girlfriend off to the tune of $90 for 2 drinks????? Are you kidding me?!!!

Seriously people dont go to this bar they will bend you over!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo G, Customer Service Director at La Baguette, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Sir/ Madame,
We apologize that you had an inconvenient when visiting La Baguette.
It is within our philosophy, business principles and corporate policies that each of our customers shall leave our restaurant completely satisfied with the overall experience at our restaurant and if you would like to please give us more information about your experience when visiting La Baguette, including a short description of why you were not satisfied, indicating the date of your visit and including a copy of the bill and /or credit the card receipt, we will review it and we are ready to give you a partial refund or your purchase depending on your case.
We want to thank you in advance for your time and consideration.
Looking forward to hearing from you.
Kind Regards,
Guillermo E. Gomez
Customer Service Director
La Baguette
1052 Ocean Drive Miami Beach, FL 33139 USA
e-mail: Guillermo@labaguettemiami.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Expensive!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Food and drinks were delicious but very expensive. Our waitress was lovely, but she talked us into ordering way too much food for the number of people we had, and the cocktails (granted, they were enormous) were $50 each! Still, a nice place to eat and have a drink, just check prices before you order if you're on a budget.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food - Good cocktails”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stopped by one evening for dinner & drinks. The food was delicious and the cocktails were MASSIVE!

Great place to go for a bite to eat and some 'pre-drinks' to top you up before hitting the bars & clubs.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Baguette also viewed

 

Been to La Baguette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Baguette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.