We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so good that I expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gelato-go South Beach

Gelato-go South Beach
458 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
+1 305-397-8648
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 840 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Italian, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Description: We make our own Gelato base daily with fresh ingredients. Our dairy flavors use low-fat milk with cream and no butters, while our Sorbettos are made with seasonal fruit. Exclusive ingredient include prestigious Pistacchio from Bronte (Sicily) and Nocciola (Hazelnut) from Piemonte. We also offer Italian Pastries and coffee.
Stockholm
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Not so good that I expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

My expectation was high when I saw the reviews at Tripadvisor. But I was a little bit disappointed. Modest number of flavours ice cream. But it taste very well.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alex692, Owner at Gelato-go South Beach, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Hi dear customer,

we appreciate your feedback. Although we have only 12 flavors available at this time, we rotate them everyday, as we produce them fresh every morning. We hope you'll come back soon and taste the new ones!

Thanks

Gelato-go Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    153
    33
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“i love ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Try the cheesecake is the best. Location is very chic and clean. My hotel was right in front. had to have it everyday on my stay.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wow is right!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

These guys are straight from Italy and they make the absolute BEST gelato I have ever tried ....wow.

I am in south beach now going to go for a gelato later this evening

Amazing!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaasa, Finland
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Creamy, tasty gelato, perfect for a hot day at the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I had been looking at where to have dinner in while we were in South Beach and found it amusing to once again find a gelato place as one of the highest ranked restaurants. We were not planning on going here but happened to come across the place one day when walking back to our hotel from the beach. It was a hot day (maybe not so surprising considering it is Miami Beach) so a couple of scoops of gelato was more than suitable. The gelato was delicious and creamy, the only thing I was a bit disappointed about was that on the "menu card" there were many flavors that were not available now. However, there was about 10 flavors available, so I am sure everyone will find something they'll like!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Up North
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very good gelato”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is a new and very good gelato option on Ocean Drive. It did not live up to its very high billing based on other reviews, but it is very good, and worth a repeat visit. They don't accept charge cards, and close surprisingly early for Ocean Drive (11 PM according to the girl at the entrance, though the next night I noticed they were open around 11:30 PM). The prices are a bit high considering the very small cup sizes. The medium Coconut Gelato I got was about $6 in a very small cup. It was creamy and had good coconut flavor. I would rank it on a level with the 4D Gelato shop at the corner of South Pointe Dr and Washington Ave, which is my favorite gelato place in south beach, though the servings are bigger at 4D. The gelato, though very good, is not as good as some I've had in other cities, thus the 4-star rating.

Overall a good place, and I'll be back to try other flavors.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelato-go South Beach also viewed

 

Been to Gelato-go South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gelato-go South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.