We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG - don't miss it. True Italian excellence.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gelato-go South Beach

Gelato-go South Beach
458 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
(305) 397-8648
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 872 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Italian, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Description: We make our own Gelato base daily with fresh ingredients. Our dairy flavors use low-fat milk with cream and no butters, while our Sorbettos are made with seasonal fruit. Exclusive ingredient include prestigious Pistacchio from Bronte (Sicily) and Nocciola (Hazelnut) from Piemonte. We also offer Italian Pastries and coffee.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“OMG - don't miss it. True Italian excellence.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is artisan gelato made by an Italian man who comes from a long line of gelato makers. This is award winning gelato - a true surprise on Ocean Drive. Creamy, great flavor -- so delicious. The owner had a nice chat with us about his father and grandfather who also made gelato back in Italy. You can tell that this guy knows what he's doing. He wakes up every morning at 3 or 4am and makes every flavor fresh for that day. He says that his own personal favorite is the coconut - which I tried and it is fabulous. I also had the nutella and hazelnut which were also superb. I lived in Italy for a few years and I have to say this is better than almost any gelato I had in Italy. Don't leave Miami without trying the gelato here!! This is a place to buy your gelato and walk - it doesn't have a nice space to sit and savor (flourescent lights, etc).

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    38
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Just Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Limited flavors and pricey, was expecting so much better with all the good reviews. Doesn't have a good atmosphere either. Would recommend Haagen-Dazs store over this.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alex692, Owner at Gelato-go South Beach, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Hi Sir,

please come back next time, we'll have much more flavors for you and your family.

We really appreciate your feedback.

Thanks

Gelato-go Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Gelato where you want it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Just gelato. Limited flavors, but all were well made, authentic. Strawberry and Pistacio were especially good. Friendly atmosphere. Walk to the beach.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Have to have it!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Can't miss this site while in SoBe.
Plenty of tasty delicious gelatos choices!!
Always a very satisfying challenge to your palate for those who appreciate gelatos

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Wow, amazing find, you would not find better in Italy!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is a fantastic ice cream place in Miami that serves real Italian gelato. Antonio Arminio makes his own ice creams on the spot using the best possible ingredients, such as pistachios that he imports from Naples (he has a license from the Naples government to import these pistachios that only 100 people have). Antonio is a true "maestro gelatiere" coming from a family of ice cream makers - his grand father started the tradition!!! Antonio finished #3 at a recent "Gelato Copa del Mondo". These ice creams are all about his passion to make a fantastic product and share it with customers. We had the coconut, nutella, hazelnut and pistachio ice creams which were so good, so creamy and rich. Not to be missed

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelato-go South Beach also viewed

 
Miami Beach, FL
 

Been to Gelato-go South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gelato-go South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.