We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“its a good asian restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Khong River House

Khong River House
1661 Meridian Ave, Miami Beach, FL
+1 305-763-8147
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Khong River House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #128 of 842 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Thai, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Lincoln Road
Description: Referred to as the Khong River by locals, the Mekong River has long served as the central form of connectivity for natives from the Tibetan Plateau down through Myanmar, Laos, Thailand, Cambodia and Vietnam. The river brings together these various cultures, while its banks and valleys create one of the world's most biodiverse and fertile areas. As a young man, 50 Eggs, Inc. Founder/CEO John Kunkel lived in Thailand and traveled extensively through Southeast Asia. This time abroad left Kunkel in awe of the people, culture, and food of the Mekong region, and waiting for the day he could bring the experience stateside.
Miami, Florida, USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“its a good asian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

the restaurant its very nice, the food was good but not excellent and the service and the staff were OK, I think they need to be more professional

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Owner at Khong River House, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hi Fabrizio,

Thank you for taking the time to review Khong. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal with us and hope to have you back again soon to try the rest of our menu items.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    111
    35
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Southeast Asia in our backyard.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We dined early, on a Monday evening at Khong. From the décor, the atmosphere, the food and the service our experience was superior to most restuarants we dine with. I want to go on about the place, but in trying to think about what to say I realize this experience left me speechless. Try it...you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Owner at Khong River House, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Hi JSullivan,

Thank you for taking the time to review Khong River House. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your dining experience with us and hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, USA
1 review
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I love 50 eggs restaurants. The Burmese Egg noodle is my favorite. Also, try the sriracha cocktail!

The decor is amazing. the ceiling is lined with tin roofing and it gives a very authentic asian village vibe.

Go upstairs to Patpong for a cocktail and dance :)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Owner at Khong River House, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Hi Leigh,

Thank you for taking the time to review Khong. We're pleased to hear you're a fan of our restaurants and enjoyed your experience at Khong. Definitely come back again soon for more of those Burmese Fresh Noodle Wraps and some after-dinner drinks at Patpong!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Delicious from appetizers to desserts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I always have a good time here. Not a tourist trap at all, it seems like you are not on Lincoln Rd. Great decor, interesting and mouth watering menu, real food.
It is always packed but you can indulge in a cocktail at the bar or start with some appetizers.
Even though i am allergic to peanuts, the staff can attentively guide you through the menu and make proper suggestions. I always try differrent dishes but my favs are the pork balls, the spicy papaya salad and the duck. No peanuts.
This time we also had a mango Napolen, loved it!
Perfect to go on a date or group of friends. Overall excellent job guys!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Owner at Khong River House, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Hi Annazordanna,

Thanks for taking the time to review Khong. It's so great to hear you enjoy the restaurant despite a peanut allergy. We hope you'll come back again soon to try more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Not your typical Thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Okay, I ate at Khong River House with some clients last week. I arrived two hours early (don't ask) and sat at the bar. I was alone at the bar for most of the two hours and the bartender said it was a slow night. The place has a small front with seating and some larger settings areas to the back of the restaurant. The place has a unique decor made mostly of wood, maybe bamboo wood?. The wait staff are all friendly and fast to serve you. I ate spring rolls, two orders they were so good. They were fresh and light, not fried. The sauce was suppose to be spicy but to me wasn't. The homemade spiced rum was good on the rocks. Once the clients arrived we sat and ordered spicy crisp pork balls which were great. The spare rib app was among the best I've tasted. The dinner of yellow curry chicken was good but think I would order a fish or meat meal next time. I will be back for sure as it was some good food. Little pricey though.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Owner at Khong River House, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Hi TonyK,

Thanks for taking the time to review Khong. We're so glad you enjoyed your dining experience with us. Please come back again soon for another order of those Thai Pork Ribs and to try the rest of our offerings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Khong River House also viewed

 
Miami Beach, FL
Miami Beach, FL
 

Been to Khong River House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khong River House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.