We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort to your Saves list
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139‎ (Formerly The James Royal Palm) (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #67 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
1 review
“Best hotel experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

First time I have ever stayed here and the staff is out of this world. They do everything with a genuine smile on their face, help with anything you may want or need, and the rooms are impeccable. If you can get an ocean view, it is spectacular. Treat yourself to food and drinks at the pool, they're to die for. Can not thank the staff enough for making this trip such a wonderful experience and a memory to last a lifetime!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Wow! Thanks for the generous comments. I’m very happy to hear we were able to deliver a memorable experience during your stay with us. We have made tremendous efforts to create the right experience for our guests and it looks like we were successful here. We look forward to having you with us on your next vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    937
    562
    244
    120
    87
See reviews for
390
758
78
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ny
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Location, location... Being at the start of Ocean Drive you get the best of both worlds- peace and tranquility, with the excitement a short walk away. The atmosphere and decor is quintessential Miami, The grounds are maintained and decorated beautifully. The front-desk is efficient, well-trained and personable.The mattress is one of the best I've experienced, even better than Westin's Heavenly. The pool staff is excellent as are bartenders and servers. Lunch at Florida Cookery Patio was delicious, Pool is perfect size and temperature and hot tub is Hot! Acoustics in pool area are superb as is music selection. If you are over age of 22 and wish to stay in Sobe, this is your hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thanks for the great posting. We will certainly share the posting with our team. Lots to celebrate! We can’t wait to have you back again in Miami Beach. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We booked The James Royal Palm almost 3 months before our visit. We visit Miami 3-4 times per year and was looking to try out a new hotel. I am an avid user of Yelp and other review sites. I thought I had done my homework - I saw lots of good reviews and thought I was good to go. Don't let these fool you, like they did me. You are WAY better off booking a nearby hotel (Loews?) at a very comparable rate. My stay was disastrous. This review will make it sound like I am a curmudgeon old man, but I assure you I am not.

Let's cover the bad first:
- The air conditioning broke during our stay and was never properly fixed. The rooms were warmer than outside. Everything was very stuffy and almost unbearable to sleep in. We received no apology and this is the biggest reason for the 1 star rating.
- This one is only partially the hotels fault - I do realize that. During one night of our stay, they allowed 3 rooms to party from 3-5AM and it was incredibly loud. Banging of doors, lots of people hanging out in the hallways. There is absolutely no way anybody slept on our floor during this time. It took 4 calls to the front desk to even get anything done.
- Resort fee is now $25/day, not $21/day as some others have mentioned. This is on top the regular rate. This is for chairs and umbrellas on the beach. You get charged this whether or not you use it
- Breakfast buffet at $30/person + automatic gratuity of 18% is a joke. The buffet was absolutely pathetic. There were no large plates to use and the buffet seriously needed to be restocked. Do yourself a favour and do not eat the breakfast here, nearby hotels have MUCH better breakfasts at the same or at a cheaper rate
- They forgot to clean my room one day and despite asking the Front desk to have my room cleaned that night, it just did not happen
- Keycard needed to be exchanged 4 times during my stay because it stopped working
- WiFi is spotty
- Very poor soundproofing - you can hear everything around you

Good:
- Rooms are very modern looking and have been nicely designed
- Location is great
- The provided toiletries are very nice, they use organic soaps which is cool

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Warm evening breezes caress my feet as I lie on my queenn size lounge chair just feet from the Crystal blue waters..What a wonderful day thanks to Andy and Nathan from the beach team at the James hotel!!
Being S Fla locals of course we hadn't done the whole tourist experience of renting a beach cabana to spend a day like the rich and famous. Nathan made us feel very welcome even though we weren't hotel guests and set us up like royalty in the front row on the beach. The extra money is definitely worth it since you are front row with a huge day bed multiple umbrellas and the best service on the sand thanks to Andy!
Mojitos for the adults and and complementary water and fruit made a perfect day really special for my niece who was visiting from Europe :)

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thanks for joining us at the beach. I’m happy to read that Andy and Nathan were able to take care of you. We will certainly recognize them for their efforts. See you again soon in beautiful Miami Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

The James is conveniently located on Collins Avenue in South Beach, Miami right next to Lowe's and near the Ritz Carlton and The Delano. The hotel itself is updated art deco. The (beachfront) rooms are not capacious but they are nicely designed and appointed.

I was nursing a stress fracture and the staff could not have been nicer. They helped in every way, including offering to assist me with my belongings to making sure I got a cab when I needed it. I regularly asked the front desk for suggestions about where to dine or go for drinks and they were both down to earth and sensitive to my needs. Same with the concierge.

The property has a small bar off the lobby and a bar-restaurant (Florida Cookery Patio, FCP) off the pool area. Good food, a little pricey but this is SoBe. The hummus platter is an excellent small meal or generous snack. There are a lot of outdoor nooks and crannies where guests can sit, lounge, and recreate. There are ping pong tables, etc. that are used by adult and child guests. While I was there (August) there was a mix of families and couples and singles traveling together and singly. International crowd. Pretty much the same profile as a May visit I took there in past.

Pretty good fitness center for size of hotel. Clean and well appointed.

There are two pools and easy beach access with lounge-side food and beverage service.

The pool and beach staff were incredible. I am a good tipper (and tip on top of the 18% gratuity that is included) but I saw very responsive service across the board.

The only letdown I experienced was the fee for beach umbrellas ($19) which is on top of a $19 daily resort fee. The umbrella concession is run by an outside vender (Boucher) and their staff lacked the attention to detail and customer service orientation that characterizes the staff at The James.

I will be back :-)

Room Tip: Beachfront is best. I think the entire hotel is fairly quiet but no ideas about the rooms that face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thanks for the detailed posting. I’m happy to read we were able recognize your needs and help you relax while staying with us. Thanks again for the contribution to trip advisor and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

First time here for us.
We have stayed at The James Chicago a few times and really liked it so we decided to try the James Miami hotel..Wow, we were impressed with Service we received everywhere from the Check-in (LaKesha was amazing in helping us get set up for everything we needed), room service was great and the service at the pool side was the best (Magdalina was fantastic -we wanted to take her home with us) and the bartenders (Robert & John) make your night with their hospitality.

Room Tip: Ocean view room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thanks for the comments. I appreciate the mention about Lakeshia, Magdalina, Robert, and John. We will certainly recognize and celebrate their service efforts. Please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

This is not the type of hotel I usually stay at (I'm a budget traveler), but this was a nice change. The staff were fabulous (Becka and J.R. are the only two names I remember, but everyone was great, friendly, attentive and helpful)! The location is perfect, just north of Ocean Drive on Collins. The regular rooms are small with just a "step out" balcony, but that is typical with renovated Art Deco hotels in SoBe. The beds were some of the most comfortable I have ever slept on!

My main complaint was the constant techno music that they played by the pool. It is loud and never varies from the techno theme. I wouldn't mind the techno music if they would vary it by playing other genres as well, but they don't. While the food was good in the hotel restaurant, the service was rather slow and the portions were very small. I recommend going next door to the Lowes for most meals if you are dining close by. See my review of the the Lowes restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
I appreciate your review. Thanks for recognizing Rebecca and JR for the service they provided to you. I’m sorry to hear about your experience at the poolside and in our outlets. I will talk to the teams based on your feedback to better our experience. We hope to see you again on your next vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#35 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 4,286 reviews
0.3 mi away
Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
1.7 mi away
Thompson Miami Beach
Thompson Miami Beach
#3 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#12 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,387 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#47 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,122 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Palms Hotel & Spa
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#54 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort

Address: 1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139‎ (Formerly The James Royal Palm)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Palm South Beach Miami boasts an enviable location on Collins Avenue, just north of the iconic Ocean Drive at 15th Street. With direct access to the beach and boardwalk, the resort is near the most appealing attractions of vibrant South Beach. The resort comprises a wealth of refined facilities, including a pampering spa and a pool encircled by cabanas. Dining venues serve authentic plates and cocktails in a relaxing ambience. Some 10,000 square feet of space is available for enchanting events. With iconic ocean or city views, guest rooms and suites house environmentally-friendly amenities and stylish areas for business and leisure. Poolside Suites are distinguished by their expansive outdoor terraces and proximity to the beach and pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Groupon, Starwood, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Otel, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.