We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The James Royal Palm

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The James Royal Palm to your Saves list
The James Royal Palm
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139‎   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$100 daily hotel credit
Ranked #39 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed 10 nights in this hotel, and it was a very nice stay. The location is excellent, one block from Ocean Drive and direct access to the beach with sunbeds included in the room price. Clean and nice, good facilities, incl. a spa and workout room. The hotel also has bike you can loan for free, excellent for a ride along the beach. The only drawback is that it is very expensive to live and eat at the hotel. Food and drinks are very expensive, so we ended up eating elsewhere every day except the first. This can of course be expected in Miami Beach, but we found it expensive even here. Not a problem though, lots of great places to eat in the area. Recommend Cafe Charlotte, 1497 Washington Avenue, a small cafe with great skirt steaks at a reasonable price! Also the wifi is on and off in the hotel room, but works great on the beach! All in all a great hotel!

Room Tip: Our room was on the 12th floor, overlooking the ocean, which was great. Other side of the hotel over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thanks for staying with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and amenities. I appreciate the feedback about the culinary pricing. We will certainly discuss your concern in hopes to better the experience. We hope to have you back soon in Miami Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    680
    377
    138
    66
    40
See reviews for
241
525
56
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

My husband and I visited South Beach for our 2 Year wedding anniversary. It was our first trip to the area. The hotel is really nice & clean. The rooms have a bright energy. The mini bar in the room is over priced, but if you want drinks or snacks, I suggest visiting the many stores nearby. The location is perfect. On Collins, on the beach, 1 block from Washington, 1 block from Ocean, & 2 blocks from Lincoln Road Mall.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Congrats on your anniversary and I appreciate the posting. Thank you for staying with us. We hope to have you back on your next celebration. Please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We decided to get away for a short weekend and ended up booking this fabulous hotel. From start to finish we were pampered. The staff (valet, front desk, beach, restaurant) truly went out of their way to give us a great experience - and not only us we discovered talking to other guests. The standard room was nice and big, the bed very comfortable and the amenities in the bathroom was so much to my liking I ended up buying their shampoo and conditioner. Had they sold their lotion in the giftshop I would have gone home with that as well. We enjoyed a great afternoon on the beach. We checked in at a beach hut and 4 chairs were promptly set up for us together with a little basket that contained apples and water - what a nice touch! We did not have dinner at the restaurant, only coffee in the morning and while sitting at one of the tables we discovered their mini herb gardens in planters that would normally contain flowers. Another great touch. We'll def. be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thanks for the review. I appreciate the details about the service you received during your stay with us. It’s great to hear you had a great time at the hotel. We can’t wait to have you back at The James Royal Palm. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

Our stay here was a wonderful experience. Everything worked, the room was wonderful, the service good, and all in all the hotel provided a classic Miami Beach experience. We had booked an oceanfront room which was located on the 11th floor. The Florida Cookery (the restaurant downstairs) served delicious food. We loved the James Royal Palm!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thanks for the comments. I’m happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I appreciate the contribution to our postings. Please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I choose the hotel because my usual hotel in Mimim Beach as sold out. The James Royal Palm was a pleasant surprise. It's a great hotel for Miami Beach. The location is good, on Collins but off the street, so it's not as noisy, on the beach, and a short walk to the Ocean Drive.

The staff was exceptional, (and I stay in a lot of hotels). The room was comfortable, (not huge, but no place on Miami Beach has huge rooms), clean, and efficient.

The pool area is a little compact, but they do have two pools on two levels
.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thanks for the review. I’m happy to read that you enjoyed the location. The comments about the service is much appreciated. We hope that you will be back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Great beachside service. Cabana is a great deal it comes with unlimited water, ice and fresh apples not to mention unlimited fresh towels. The service is unrivaled. They pamper you all day long. These boys work super hard in the sun to make sure you enjoy your fun day at the beach. Jeffrey and his team made a great effort and we had a fantastic day thanks to them

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thanks for the comments. I appreciate the details about your beach experience. Jeffrey and his team work in a unique environment and make great strides to make sure it’s comfortable for all who are looking for relaxation and a nice tan. We will certainly celebrate their service efforts. We can’t wait to have you back again soon in Miami Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, TN
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Was in South Beach for a Tradeshow and usually stay at the Lowe's SoBe... but it was booked... stayed at the adjacent James Royal Palm and will be staying there from now on! Great experience, good value and great service (Thanks Marlon at Front Desk and Gisella at Coffee Bar!!!).

Very pleased with location and amenities (gym is overlooking the pool and beach) and the service was great. Rooms were clean and modern and all the staff was very helpful and friendly. Would recommend for business or personal trip. They have a ping pong table and foozball table out by pool area.. would love to bring my family back for a visit!

Room Tip: Got a free upgrade for asking about it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thanks for the recommendation. It’s great to read that you had a great time with us. I also like the comments about the recreational amenities. We try our very best to create the best experience for all who visit us. We will certainly recognize Marlon and Gisela for their efforts to serve you. We hope to have you back next year or sooner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The James Royal Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Royal Palm

Address: 1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139‎
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Royal Palm 4.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured as one of Conde Nast Traveler UK & US Magazine's "Hot Hotels of 2013" and now a AAA Four Diamond rated beachfront retreat, The James Royal Palm is The James brand's third location and first hotel in Florida. Joining sister properties in Chicago and New York City, the ideally situated, oceanfront hotel offers a total of 393 guest rooms, including studios and suites, with the majority offering ocean views. A combination of personalized comfort, generous complimentary amenities, residentially styled, artistically-inspired details and impeccable service, create an environment ideal for both business and leisure travelers. Just steps away from the beach and world famous Ocean Drive and Collins Avenue, the oceanfront beach retreat is located within the coveted and culturally-rich area of South Beach. The James Royal Palm provides guests with a location immersed in luxury retail, endless entertainment and an unmatched shopping experience.Designed by Lauren Rottet of Rottet Studio, The James Royal Palm is as a modern tribute to the original Royal Palm Hotel's rich history, keeping intact many signature elements of the original architect's design. The compass rose on the terrazzo lobby floor, original green glass reception desk and porthole windows in the lobby lounge have all been preserved and restored.The James Royal Palm features two swimming pools, a plunge pool, poolside bar, The James Pool and Beach Experience, lobby lounge, coffee bar, renew the spa, a full-service spa with salt-infused treatments, lil' james Offerings and Play Space for children, give: the shop, a retail shop offering carefully curated items, and more than 10,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and event space. Guests can enjoy dining options including signature restaurant Florida Cookery; featuring regional Florida fare. A daily beach retreat charge includes: The James Beach and Pool Experience with Sun Concierge, children's play area, two beach chaise loungers and umbrella, poolside loungers, towel service, 24-hour gym, Lil' James play space access, and local & domestic long distance calls. The James offers complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, triple-distilled water refreshed twice daily and access to bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The James Royal Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The James Royal Palm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.