We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good atmosphere , spacious / light one bed room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The James Royal Palm

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The James Royal Palm to your Saves list
The James Royal Palm
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139‎   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 204 Hotels in Miami Beach
Lugano, Switzerland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great location, good atmosphere , spacious / light one bed room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We are a family with 2 teenage kids and this hotel was ideal. We had the one bedroom / sitting room option with 2 extra beds for the kids which worked out well. Room is light , clean and spacious enough. Staff very friendly. Location is great - can walk to the Art Deco Area, shops and restaurants. Beach right by the hotel. Free bike rental and did some good cycling around South Miami and downtown. This part of Miami is buzzing - lots of people watching ! Kids loved it .

Room Tip: We had the one bedroom suite on the second floor with easy pool access. Also a nice seating area jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thanks for the posting. It’s great to hear that you joined us with your family. As you already know, our bikes are a great amenity for a ride in Miami Beach. We also have additional activations like games and Lil James with a selection of arts and crafts for families. I hope we have the family back for a visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    731
    396
    142
    69
    40
See reviews for
252
550
57
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

The front desk staff are amazing. The rooms are very nice! The rest of the staff was lacking. Some of the servers and house keeping are quite rude. The beach was amazing and most of the service was good. The service was actually better at the beach then it was at the pools. The location is perfect. The food wasn't so good. The drinks were not the quality I was expecting for the price. The pools are nice. I would probably return. If I could change anything I would update the servers/wait staff and housekeeping on a little customer service.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thanks for the review. I appreciate the mention about our front desk and beach team. I will talk to the additional departments and address the lack of service. Once again, many thanks for the feedback and I hope to see you again in Miami Beach soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

My boyfriend and I just had the time of our life staying at The James Royal Palm in Miami. Without gushing on for paragraph after paragraph, I'd like to mention some standouts. Melody at check in, instantly made us feel at home. She was pleasant, informative, and took excellent care of us which made our first impression, spot on. Unfortunately I didn't catch any of the doormen/bellmen names but they were always there to assist with a smile and an offer of a bottled water on the extra hot days. Florian, the Chef Concierge, made remarkable recommendations which heightened our stay tremendously! He was an integral part of our stay for sure and you must stop to see him for ideas! John and Rob at the poolside bar were excellent with the drinks as well as great info about nearby things to do as well. I booked a signature renew massage and Elizabeth was beyond amazing - she helped me choose the best three modalities for me and helped me with some trouble spots that I didn't even know needed help!
All in all, this hotel is incredible and I will highly recommend it and hopefully return soon!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thanks for all the names mentioned in your posting. They are an important ingredient to our service and I appreciate all their efforts. We will recognize their contribution. Thanks again for the post and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Nice outside space for relaxing. Beach amenities.. just right.
Bed very comfortable. Nice housekeeping staff. Great location for all the South Beach action.
Did not eat in the restaurant, but the atmosphere looked very nice! I want my dining room to look like that. :-)

Room Tip: 17th floor had A/C noise, I guess from the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thanks for the posting. I’m happy to hear that we delivered the right experience for you. We hope to have you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Great place to spend a couple of days. Location is close to almost everything in Miami Beach (shopping, restaurants). The rooms are spacious, bar and restaurant state of the art for that class of hotel. I also liked the service at the hotel beach. Specifically worth to mention is the very competent and friendly staff.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thanks for the recommendation. It’s great to read that you enjoyed the hotel amenities and service. We look forward to your next trip to Miami Beach. Thanks again and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stayed in an ocean front room for a great price of $240 a night. I would not stay here if it cost any more than that. Check in started off promising, with the great aid of Marlon. There was something wrong with my room, so Marlon paced me in a temp room because I had a splitting headache. What great service! Once in my booked room, I had to call down after 40 minutes of waiting for my bag. They couldn't find it! The guest services person was not friendly, and had sarcastic undertones. My bag arrived after 1 hour. I realized that the mini bar had not been restocked prior to my arrival. I called down to report, so as not to be charged upon checkout, and again was met by the same sarcastic male on the phone. Of course the tv didn't work. I cringed when I had to call, and again endure the same man on the phone. Nothing I called down for was inappropriate or "pest like", but he sure made me feel like he thought I was a nut!

The room was splendid. The view was spectacular. The bed was uber comfortable. The vibe in the hotel was great. We tried the spa, and it was glorious! One of the best massages I've ever had.

The service in the hotel was interesting. Everyone was willing to help, or attend to us, but NOBODY did it with a smile or a friendly attitude. Perhaps it was the heat, but the staff seemed so unhappy to be dealing with people. We went down to the outdoor restaurant by the pool one afternoon, and left after 15 minutes of being ignored by the many staff standing around. We also went to the breakfast buffet one morning and paid WAY too much for cold eggs, soggy bacon, and some fruit.

The room was fantastic, so I would stay again, but only if the price is right. This was a trial for this hotel, but I think we'll stick to our usual MB hotel next door.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for the details in your review. I’m sorry to hear about your arrival experience and additional issues experienced during your stay. I will certainly talk to the teams to better our service. I appreciate the feedback and hope that you will give us another try in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Fantastic stay.
Start with the check in, Lakeisha (I hope in spelling her name right) was a gem very helpful and attentive she described everything I needed to know about the hotel and then some. The hotel is a nice boutique hotel between 15 and 16 on Collins. It has a nice pool with limited umbrellas so get there early if you plan on spending the morning by the pool. Also please tip the pool girl she hustles all day and I see some of you just kind of brush her off after she sets up your chairs and umbrella, you know who you are you cheapo. Anyway the beach is right on the property as well so if the pool gets full go to the beach they will set you up with a chair and an umbrella as well, tip him as well. They will bring you food and drinks if you want. Raquel is very pleasant and is constantly walking around to see if you need a drink or food.
The hotel is perfectly situated between ocean drive and Lincoln road you can walk to both or use one of the hotels bicycles (they are free) to troll the streets.
Breakfast by the Florida cookery is fine you can do the buffet or a la carte. They both come out to be about the same price 60-70. This time the food looked better for some reason. The happy gentlemen with the sunglasses that greeted us for breakfast puts you in a good mood instantly.

I enjoy the acknowledgement from all of the staff as you walk through the hotel lobby or property, it makes you feel important (good job)

Now for the :(
We were by the pool and the supervisor came and told me to turn down my little Bose speaker because it interfered with their choice of music (boo) I say to that. I just think he was jealous of my tunes.

Marlon forgot to tell the valet to retrieve my car from the parking lot when I called down from my room. It was hot out there waiting for the car.

Those are the only negatives I had this weekend. Until next time.

I will post pictures later.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thanks for the details in your review. I appreciate the mention about Lakeisha, Raquel, and the team. I’m also happy to read that you enjoyed the location and amenities. I'm sorry to hear about the feedback but it is much appreciated and I will talk to the team members so we can better the experience. Don’t wait too long to come back. See you soon and thanks for the contribution!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The James Royal Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Royal Palm

Address: 1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139‎
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 204 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Royal Palm 4.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured as one of Conde Nast Traveler UK & US Magazine's "Hot Hotels of 2013" and now a AAA Four Diamond rated beachfront retreat, The James Royal Palm is The James brand's third location and first hotel in Florida. Joining sister properties in Chicago and New York City, the ideally situated, oceanfront hotel offers a total of 393 guest rooms, including studios and suites, with the majority offering ocean views. A combination of personalized comfort, generous complimentary amenities, residentially styled, artistically-inspired details and impeccable service, create an environment ideal for both business and leisure travelers. Just steps away from the beach and world famous Ocean Drive and Collins Avenue, the oceanfront beach retreat is located within the coveted and culturally-rich area of South Beach. The James Royal Palm provides guests with a location immersed in luxury retail, endless entertainment and an unmatched shopping experience.Designed by Lauren Rottet of Rottet Studio, The James Royal Palm is as a modern tribute to the original Royal Palm Hotel's rich history, keeping intact many signature elements of the original architect's design. The compass rose on the terrazzo lobby floor, original green glass reception desk and porthole windows in the lobby lounge have all been preserved and restored.The James Royal Palm features two swimming pools, a plunge pool, poolside bar, The James Pool and Beach Experience, lobby lounge, coffee bar, renew the spa, a full-service spa with salt-infused treatments, lil' james Offerings and Play Space for children, give: the shop, a retail shop offering carefully curated items, and more than 10,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and event space. Guests can enjoy dining options including signature restaurant Florida Cookery; featuring regional Florida fare. A daily beach retreat charge includes: The James Beach and Pool Experience with Sun Concierge, children's play area, two beach chaise loungers and umbrella, poolside loungers, towel service, 24-hour gym, Lil' James play space access, and local & domestic long distance calls. The James offers complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, triple-distilled water refreshed twice daily and access to bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Venere, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The James Royal Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The James Royal Palm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.